Fighting Genetics

The flooring is done! And that’s really all that’s “done”. The rest of the house is very reminiscent of the days shortly after we moved into the house. Living room and dining room furniture is in the kids’ bedrooms. Those same rooms have clothes all over the place, both clean and dirty. The basement, which is now a fully working family home theatre complete with stained loveseat and housing several piles and baskets of clothes in varying states of cleanliness.

**Side Note**

I keep thinking that some magical day I will become a responsible grown up parent who always folds the clothes straight out of the dryer and puts them away instead of letting the clothes sit in a basket for a week before sorting them into “owner” piles before folding them and putting the now folded piles of clothes back into the baskets and placing each basket into the proper room where they will be rifled through each morning in a frantic attempt to piece together a matching outfit.

So far that day hasn’t happened. But my fingers retain a tenuous grasp on that thin ledge of hope.

**End Side Note**

The kitchen, well, honestly, the kitchen looks the most normal. Unfortunately “normal” in our house means “cluttered beyond belief” with piles of papers and bags and pencils and pens and scissors and empty beer bottles that need to be brought to the basement to be stored until the next brewing session, random socks and hoodies (yes, there are even clothes in the kitchen. Just assume that any room I ever talk about ever for the past and remaining life of this blog until the above mentioned Magical Day of Organization finally comes around has at least one article of clothing that doesn’t belong there.) and probably there are some dishes and empty frozen veggie bags somewhere. “Abnormal” is that 2 hour window between “SPARKLING CLEAN!” and the above mentioned state of things. Only THIS time, add in a new stove that’s hooked up to the gas line but not pushed up against the wall because the Anti-tilt bracket things need to be installed.

The only “clean” part of the house is the newly floored living room and it looks FABULOUS but is missing the new rug and coffee table we just ordered today.

Ok, so now that you have this mental image of garbage house firmly fixed in your mind, let me tell you this very short Jaden anecdote that I will undoubtedly draw out far too long.

Today is April 20, 2011 and this morning the entire state of MN woke to find a nice layer of snow (of varying depth dependent upon where its residents slept last night.) on the ground. The majority of us have packed away all the winter gear because we figured by mid-April we’re in the clear.

We ALWAYS think we’re in the clear. Even I, who refused to be duped this year, put away the winter gear. However, I maintain it was in an effort to add SOME organization to my life.

Every year. EVERY. DAMN. YEAR. DARN YOU, MIDWEST!!

So this morning I dug out the snow pants and winter coats and boots and Matt dug out the gloves and hats. I packed the snow pants into Jaden’s back pack; she put on her boots, coat, and hat. Jonas put on his rain boots (refusing to wear his winter boots because, well, he’s Jonas and he’s stubborn about odd things.) and coat and put on his little golf hat that looks like Daddy’s. (He’s taken a shine to that little hat and sweaters over the last few weeks. It’s adorable and also oddly prophetic in that his sweater fixation started right at the Spring Solstice. It’s as if he KNEW consistently warm weather was a long time coming.) We said goodbye to Matt, I dropped the kids off at the in-laws and got to work where I diligently performed my job until around 11 when I got a call from the school nurse.

“Hi, I have Jaden here in my office.”

“Oh, no.” I said, fearing an ear infection or a sore throat to go with that cough she’s had for a couple weeks.

“Well, she said she was wearing her snow pants when she went out for recess but somehow her pants and underpants got wet. She’s soaked.”

“Oh no!”

“Yeah, I’m not sure how** but she’s completely wet and we have no extra clothes here. Would someone be able to bring her a change of clothes?”

Frantically I think of a solution and the only one that will work comes out of my mouth:

“I’ll ask her grandma to bring some over.”

“Ok, great! Jaden will be here in my office waiting.”

“Great thanks!”

**I still don’t know how she got soaked through her snow pants that had just a couple weeks ago worked fine. It’s Jaden. For all I know she found a drain spout, held open her pants and let the water pour on in.**

Then the call to my wonderful, beautiful, saintly mother in law:

“Hi! Are the flooring guys there?”

“Oh, yeah, they’re here.”

“Good good! Say, listen, could I ask a huge favor of you?”

“Sure…”

“Jaden’s pants and underpants got soaked at recess and needs a change of clothes. Could you possibly go to our house and get some clothes and bring them to her?”

“Oh, sure, not a problem!”

“Oh, it will be,” I think, “You don’t know how bad our house is.”

“Great! Ok, here’s the thing. Our house is sort of all kinds of falling apart and we haven’t put it back together again after the flooring got installed. SO! There should be some underpants in Jaden’s dresser and there should be some pants on her floor. Actually there are probably several pairs. Just find a pair you think will fit. If there aren’t any, there are some clothes in the dryer.” Please please please don’t be forced to go downstairs.

“Ok, I’ll find something.”

“Great! Thanks!”

Then I die of embarrassment. See, I can navigate the labyrinth that is our laundry situation but the thought of anyone else trying? Here’s how it would go if I tried to explain the FULL process I go through every morning:

“First, check the dresser. Nothing there? Check Jaden’s floor. There are some for-sure-clean clothes in the little moses basket that used to be Jonas’ bassinet before it became the cat’s bed, then it was housed under Jaden’s bed and now it’s out again and has some clothes in it for some reason. Yeah, there. Ok, only shirts and jammies? No, don’t bother looking in the closet. You won’t find anything useful there. Go downstairs. Yeah, sorry about the toys. Ok, over by the love seat you’ll see a few small piles of clothes. Jaden’s are not in any of those. Hers are in one of the baskets. I can’t remember which one. Actually, now that I think about it, I don’t think she’s got any there. Go to the laundry room. I KNOW she’s got some in the dryer and in the giant pile on the folding table and there are some socks and underwear in the clothes basket there. Good luck and godspeed!”

EVERY MORNING! With both kids and myself! And then Matt asks where his socks are and I throw a basket of socks at his head.

***

Added today, April 21.

I had a nice chat with my mom yesterday. “Mommy,” I said in a whimpery kind of tone, “I have such hopes and dreams of being organized. I swear every time I go to do laundry that THIS time I will fold the clothes straight out of the dryer and put them away. THIS time I will put the shoes away as soon as we get home. THIS time I will lead by example and throw my clothes down the chute and NOT on the floor.” She laughed sympathetically and said, “Oh, honey. You’re fighting genetics. I have the same hopes and dreams. Whenever I get really frustrated, I remember my parents and feel a little better. You can only fight nature so far, y’know.”

Well! I sure showed her. Sort of. Instead of going shopping with friends last night (yes. I have friends!) (Ok, they were the ladies from work and they’re all over 45. But still!) I went home and cleaned! And Matt cleaned! There is still a long way to go but at least you can see the fancy new floors and the old bedroom floors in the kids’ rooms now.

Tonight, I will surrender to my genetic code and ignore the laundry some more and play my game.

Don’t you judge me!

Oh, suppose you’d like to see the flooring (just double click the images to get a full size view).

           Dining Room Before

 

                             After
            

                               Before

                                            After
 
Sorry, I don’t have a “before” handy
3 Responses

  1. Ok…i am far from organized but one thing that i have noticed that has helped me with my laundry is bringing all empty hangers to the laundry room when i go to retrieve clothes from the dryer. i make sure that no matter what…if socks aren’t matched and tyson’s underwear are inside out and amaya’s millions of tank tops are crimpled up in a ball i HANG ALL HUNG CLOTHES. i sort them out of the dryer really quick throwing all the misc stuff that i really am not concerned with if they stay wrinkled or not into a laundry basket and i hang ALL my slacks, shirts, tysons shirts, amaya’s shirts and amaya’s jeans. This little step helps a complete unorganized laundry mess become an easier path to travel in the mornings! …just a thought from one busy mom to another…LOVE THE FLOORS!

  2. See, that’s just it. I have to actually do that. But I usually just throw the clothes all in the dryer and run off to do something else because, well, the clothes CAN just stay there, can’t they? I need to sort out my priorities 🙂

  3. nah…you have your priorities right…kids, husband, cats, dog, Sims, life, ……laundry. Sounds good to me 🙂

Leave a Reply

