Garbanzo Bean Curry



Not to go off on a rant on weather but let me just say this: This Winter has been the LONGEST winter in the history of all winters. With the exception that Ice Age with the Mammoths and stuff. It arrived early and it just won’t leave. It’s been snowy snowy snowy and cold cold cold and I’m sick sick sick of it. All us Minnesotans are, I think. The meal plans in our house over the last couple weeks have really shown it. Meaning, there is no plan. Matt and I are both tired of cooking and tired of the dirty kitchen that won’t stay clean and tired of the lack of veggies that make Spring and Summer eating so enjoyable. Last weekend I had this thought as I was turning away from the cupboard: “For a house that doesn’t have snacks in it, we sure have a lot of snacks. Man, I can wait for spring and the yummy fruits and vegetables.” I glanced at the window and did a double take. The ground that had been clear of snow just two hours prior was now covered with a good half inch of the evil white stuff. Then I laughed like a maniac at the timing and injustice of it all.

In short: we’ve been eating really poorly lately. And I blame winter. However, last night I couldn’t bring myself to make my kids another “thrown together” “kid friendly” meal, I didn’t care how unmotivated I was. They’d had pizza the night before, hot dogs and veggies the night before that and grilled cheese with veggies and sweet potato fries the night before that. See? CRAPPY EATING! Bad Mommy!

I looked in my cupboard and saw a can of garbanzo beans and three cans of coconut milk and some rice. I checked the freezer for veggies and found a little less than half a bag of cut green beans and an opened bag of cubed hash browns.

Then I created this.

Garbanzo Bean Curry

Heat a couple table spoons of olive oil in a skillet over medium heat then add half a bag of frozen southern style hash brown potatoes (a.k.a. the cubed kind, not the shredded kind), some onion powder (the only onion I found was the source of the weird smell in our kitchen. Please use real onions if you have them.) and three cloves of garlic, minced. Sauté those up for about 10 minutes. You don’t want to brown the potatoes, just cook them. Add a cup or so of frozen cut green beans and season with some salt and pepper. Cook the potatoes and beans for 5 minutes, stirring occasionally.

Dump a can of rinsed and drained garbanzo beans into the skillet along with a can of coconut milk. Stir it up until everything is well combined, then add a tablespoon of curry powder (you can add more if you like but that was quite literally all I had.) and little more salt and pepper, if desired. At this point I considered adding some sriachi (red chili sauce) but then I remembered the kids had to eat this so I held off. If you have some on hand and like your curry zippy, add it now. Bring the whole thing to a boil, reduce heat and simmer for 10 minutes, stirring occasionally.

Serve over rice.

Unfortunately, the only picture I took was of my leftovers this morning at my desk with the camera on my phone. Am not a professional food blogger.

The leftovers were yummy, too.

The leftovers were yummy, too.

 

This was not bad for using whatever I had on hand. Matt and I really enjoyed it and as I said, the kids ate it without complaint so I consider that a success.

(secret: you can’t really screw up a curry. Don’t tell my ego that. She’s fragile.)

I encourage you to try creating a curry of your own. You can use this recipe as a base or another recipe you find or just start from scratch. Feel free to post your recipes in the comments.

Leave a Reply

