Jaden is 5

This morning I woke up and suddenly had a 5 year old. I don’t know how it happened, either, and at first I wasn’t dealing with it well. I put on a smile for her and told her what a happy day today was. Inside, I was crying, “Why aren’t you a baby anymore? Stop growing! Young lady, I’m warning you! You stop it now!”

Then I wrote the following and I stopped being so stupid about it. How could I expect such an amazing, self assured, brilliant, hilarious, warm hearted little girl to stop being her? I can’t.

Jaden is 5

Happy birthday, my sweet sweet big girl. (I say “big girl” because you yell at me when I call you a “little girl”. But you’ll always be my little girl, sorry.)

Leave a Reply

