2009 Questionnaire

Instead of working, I did this! Thanks Sundry for the idea and Jessie for copying and pasting the questions into a word doc:

1. What did you do in 2009 that you’d never done before?

  • Started “real” cooking, like not out of a box
  • Started cooking vegetarian
  • Discovered 3 Buck Chuck
  • Dealt with Jonas’ multiple double ear infections
  • thought we’d overcome Jaden’s eczema
  • did not overcome Jaden’s eczema
  • bought bikes for Matt and I and Jaden
  • took an 80 (or what felt like) mile family bike ride that ended in tears
  • took the kids to the library semi-regularly
  • sang in front of people that weren’t my husband and kids (via Rock Band, but still)
  • went to a book signing and waited 6 hours for PW’s autograph
  • bought real wine glasses
  • rode a “big” rollercoaster with Jaden
  • got dolled up and went to a Squirrel Nut Zippers concert
  • attended a concert that had been post-poned (Bloc Party)
  • threw a dinosaur themed First Birthday Party
  • threw a Girl-Pirate Themed Fourth Birthday Party
  • threw a Poker Party for husband
  • Wore a very short dress
  • Started using Photoshop
  • Bought a furnace, bought a dishwasher, bought a central humidifier thing
  • bought a second cat
  • bought a laptop (This was the year for big purchases it would seem.)
  • made Cake Balls
  • made a complete Vegetarian Christmas dinner
  • started drooling over things sold at places called “The Kitchen Store” and “William Sonoma”
  • Took my sister to her first concert (Lady Sovereign)
  • scheduled my first dentist appointment. got first wisdom tooth pulled. (got clean bill of dental health, otherwise)
  • used vegetables and herbs from our own garden in my cooking. 

2. Did you keep your new year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?

I don’t think I had any. Oh, right, I was going to start working out and stick with it. That didn’t happen. OK, I started but I didn’t stick with it. THIS year! THIS YEAR I will! Also:

  • Take some sort of “hobby/skill building” class this winter. (Just like a Sim!)
  • Take an Anniversary Trip to another country
  • Visit with my remaining grandparents
  • Talk to my dad
  • Think before Reacting
  • Try not to think too hard/Stop beating myself up over things I can’t control
  • Let things go when necessary
  • Fight for what I believe in; don’t be walked over
  • Trust myself more, both in my career and in my parenting
  • Take more time for me
  • Get messy with the kids
  • Go on more dates with my husband
  • Buy a new bathing suit and new boots
  • Read more, not just listen to audiobooks
  • Put money into savings and keep it there
  • OPTIONAL: Start D&D ring.

 

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?

Some cousins on my husband’s side of the family.

4. Did anyone close to you die?

He wasn’t really close but my step-grandfather passed away. That was an interesting experience. The funeral, I mean. Seeing a bunch of family members I hadn’t seen in 15+ years and not really talking to any of them. Also, finding myself aching not just for a hug from my dad but, more importantly, the feeling of what that hug could mean.

5. What countries did you visit?

Not a one! I did go to Iowa, which counts, right?

6. What would you like to have in 2010 that you lacked in 2009?

MONEY!

7. What dates from 2009 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

I’m really bad with dates.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?

  • Going vegetarian and staying that way.
  • I threw great parties for each of my family members. It’s how I showed my appreciation for them.

 

9. What was your biggest failure?

I lost my patience with my kids a lot in 2009.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?

Some colds and stuff, and a thrown hip but nothing serious.

11. What was the best thing you bought?

My laptop, Sims 3 and our kitty Meena (is she a thing?)!

12. Whose behavior merited celebration?

Jessie, who showed strength during some very trying times.

13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?

A certain individual who I had to ban from our house.

14. Where did most of your money go?

Bills and appliances.

15. What did you get really excited about?

  • Sims 3. Like a bit too much.
  • Party planning. I love me some spreadsheets.
  • New garlic press and Measuring Grater Thing.
  • Bloc Party concert

 

16. What song will always remind you of 2009?

“Dog Days are Over” by Florence and the Machine

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:

– happier or sadder? Happier

– thinner or fatter? Same

– richer or poorer? In what sense?

18. What do you wish you’d done more of?

Wish I’d been more positive and less cynical.

19. What do you wish you’d done less of?

Sitting on my ass.

20. How did you spend Christmas?

With my family.

21. Did you fall in love in 2009?

I fall in love every day.

22. What was your favorite TV program?

Spaced.

23. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?

Hate is a very strong word that I don’t like to use seriously. I dislike several people but mostly superficially as I’ve never met them (stupid people doing stupid things in the news).

24. What was the best book you read?

I finished the Dark Tower Series by Stephen King and was very happy with the ending. Some other good ones I read: Behind the Scenes at the Museum by Kate Atkinson and The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield. Both of those are very good.

25. What was your greatest musical discovery?

Florence and the Machine

26. What did you want and get?

Good behavior from my children.

27. What did you want and not get?

Beatles Rock Band. Jeans.

28. What was your favorite film of this year?

I have no memory for any of the films I’ve seen this year as they all meld together. Maybe I saw it this year, maybe I saw it last year. Dark Knight, was that this year? That was a good one.

29. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?

I turned 28 and had a couple girl friends over for sushi, appetizers and Harry Potter Scene It. And drinks. Lots of drinks.

30. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?

Time.

31. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2009?

Is it clean? Is it clean enough?

32. What kept you sane?

My husband.

33. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?

Tee hee. I have an unbelievable crush on Simon Pegg.

34. What political issue stirred you the most?

Health Care and budget cuts.

35. Who did you miss?

My kids and husband. All the time.

36. Who was the best new person you met?

That one chick at Matt’s poker party. I don’t know her name but we bonded over Beatles Rock Band. Very sweet girl with great tights.

37. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2009.

Sometimes it’s best not to say anything, especially when it’s the hardest thing to do.

38. What did you like best about yourself this year?

I got excited about little things.

39. What did you like least about yourself this year?

I stuck my nose in places it didn’t need to be.

40. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year.

“Just keep swimming.”- Dory “Finding Nemo”

3 Responses

  1. ok…under question number 2 i thought it said “buy a new bathing suit and boobs”…oops 🙂

    You can totally borrow my Rockband Beatles…just lemme know when, i’ll lease it to you for a week 😉 hehe

    You know i am so doing this…wish i had more things/purchases/events to be proud of like you do. Have i ever told you that i think you have an amazing life and family 🙂 HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!

  2. I didn’t think I did a whole lot last year until I really thought about it and wrote it down. You’d be surprised. (And really? You’re jealous of my spanking new furnace and humifier? You wanna make the payments for me? That way it’ll be like you bought them! Except you WILL be buying them. I like this idea.)

    And yea, new boobs would be nice. Maybe next year 😉

  3. to be honest i would…because then i would own instead of rent 😉 he he he

Leave a Reply

