Baked Won Tons

About a month ago, my husband turned 29 (OLD!!!) and I threw him a party, because I’m an awesome wife. I enlisted the help of Jessie, because she’s an awesome friend, and together we made food (with the help of our other friend, Jason), made drinks and served our friends food and drinks all night. It was grand fun and this is the only picture I have of that night:

Hot Couple Really wish I had more pics of everyone because we were all dressed up and looking sharp but, alas, we were too busy serving everyone and then helping them drink all the booze (so as not to waste it. We’re in a recession, people!) to take many.

In preperation of that night, I created a menu:

Melt-In-Your-Mouth Cheddar Cheese Boxes

Steak Bites (Because I love my husband, yes, I made him steak)

Jalapeno Poppets

Bruschetta with Peach Salsa and Melted Brie

The Bruschetta didn’t turn out because I cannot use a broiler. Can someone please help me with this? I turned the dial thing to “Broil” and stuck the sheet in the bottom drawer thing. 2 minutes later: slices of baguette with brie BURNT to a crisp. It was sad. But not all was lost. Two wonderful guests went out and bought some tortilla chips and I cut up the rest of the brie and we just ate brie on the rest of the baguette and ate the salsa with the chips. I was pretty sad about not getting to eat the fancy bruschetta and once I figure out where the heck the broiler is, I’ll try that recipe again.

The cheese boxes are….AWESOME. They’re like bite size garlic cheesey bread. Time consuming to make and oh-so-greasy but SO GOOD!!

Now, the Jalapeno Poppets are such a neat concept. We won’t get into my husband’s dental problems but because of them, he has a hard time eating traditional jalapeno poppers. When I found this recipe on Tasty Kitchen, I had to try them. These were about as time consuming as the cheese boxes but if you have a friend named Jason to help you with both, the prep time will be greatly reduced.

Here’s the thing, though: Not only do I not know where the broiler is, but I’m also afraid of deep frying anything. It’s a combination of “Hot Freaking Grease” and “Grease Not Being Freaking Hot Enough and Not Cooking the Food thus Turning It Into a Mushy Gross Thing No One Will Eat”. I figured I would cross the Deep Frying Bridge when I came to it. Here’s how I crossed it:

Me: “*whine* grease *whimper* burning * Deep fry* cry*”

Jessie: “Can’t you bake them?”

Me: ears perking up “Bake them? Can we do that? Will they still get crispy and golden?” (Yes, for these 3 seconds I forgot what an oven actually does.)

Jessie: “Sure, just brush some butter on them.”
Me: “YES!! PERFECT!!!”
And thus a party hit was born. People loved them but they were a titch too spicey for my Scandinavian wussy self.
Lucky for me and any Scandinavians visiting my house in the near future, I had a bunch of won ton wraps left over. After much research and googling “won ton filling” the general consensus was “Whatever the heck you want”.
Off to the grocery store I went and there I purchased a small tub of Onion and Chives cream cheese. Here’s what I did with it:
  • Poured a glass of chilled white wine.
  • Popped Disc 1 of Wicked: Unabridged Audiobook into my laptop
  • Filled a ramiken halfway with cool tap water
  • Lined a cookie sheet with wax paper

Assemble wontons thusly-

  • Lay 1 won ton wrap on a dinner plate.
  • Spoon 1 teaspoon of cream cheese in the middle of the won ton
  • Dip finger in water and trace along the edges of the won ton
  • Fold one end up to meet the other and press sides together firmly to seal completely. (I did triangles this time because I was feeling kooky)
  • Place filled won ton on the wax paper.
  • Repeat until either the cream cheese or the wraps or the wine is gone.
To Bake: place filled won tons in a single layer on a baking sheet and brush with melted butter. Bake at 350 degrees for 10-15 minutes until Golden Brown and Crispy*.
Some tips:
The plate will start getting kinda mucky so every once and awhile wipe it off with a clean towel.
You can freeze these for later but I HIGHLY recommend keeping the wax paper between the layers. I did not and, boy, was that fun trying to peel the frozen won tons apart without tearing the crap out of them.
I baked them today and DAMN!!! Super good and way cheaper, healthier, and tastier than buying them all deep fried and barely filled at some chinese restaurant. And did you see that thing about using whatever you want as filling?
*Don’t worry this is what your oven is for.
**Seriously, WHERE IS THE BROILER AND HOW DO I USE IT?
Leave a Reply

