Artichoke Pasta

Last night I made something NEW! Would you have ever guessed that not that long ago (like, less than a month) I was scared to death to mess with any recipe? Followed everything to a T with the exception of leaving out tomatoes and cutting up a quarter onion instead of 1 whole LARGE onion. Now? I’m having a bit of fun messing with stuff and adding here, taking away there, adjusting that. WHEE!!! It’s good times!

Back to last night. We is ever so broke and needed something cheap but nutritious. I have no idea how I stumbled upon this recipe but I did. It’s a great base recipe that is easily mess-around-with-able. Since I did change it a bit, I  DID NOT review it on allrecipes. Take that, stupid people who give things 5 stars but only with their super major changes so they should just post their own damn recipe.

Artichokes in a Garlic and Olive Oil Sauce

First, I changed the serving calculator to 3 to get some basic measurments.

I used thin spaghetti instead of shells. It just seemed right. While the water was heating to a boil, I placed a sautee pan thing (skillet?) over medium heat and threw into it:

 2 Tablespoons butter

2.5 Tablespoons olive oil

1.5 teaspoons minced garlic

 Sauteed that up for a couple minutes before adding:

 A little dried basil (from the garden!)

1 13 oz can of quartered artichokes (which I cut  up into smaller pieces, easier to hide from the kids that way.)

Some of that Spinach and Herb seasoning thing my MIL gave me from Tastefully Simple

Salt and Pepper

Sauteed some more.

 And THEN! A ½ teaspoon of lemon juice. Just a tiny bit. I probably could’ve added more but I was so afraid of over doing it!

Cooked it all for a few minutes while the pasta cooked then stirred it into the spaghetti.

Jaden: loved it with some parmesan sprinkled over the top but didn’t finish the artichokes (shock)

Matt: really liked it!

Jonas: really liked it but was more interested in the baguette I found in the cupboard and cut up and Daddy was tossing at him as if he were a duck (his quaking noises did nothing to help this image).

I did enjoy it but next time I think I’ll use a little less oil, a little more lemon juice and add some fresh spinach near the end of the cooking time.

PLUS: the only thing we had to buy was the artichokes ($2.09) and pasta (82 cents). Cheap and YUMM! Try it!

Leave a Reply

