Spring Ravioli with Pesto Cream

Listening to: Happy Playlist currently playing “Whatever Gets You Off” by Flickerstick

Mood: Productive with a full tummy

In the tradition of getting ahead of myself and patting myself on the back prematurely I have to say that I am rocking the vegetarian thing. Saturday, I created a meal plan for the week and sent Husband out for only the required ingredients. I’ve had quite a few vegetarian meals since I made my decision four days ago. I had a moment of weakness yesterday when I saw a commercial for Applebee’s steak and thought, “Oooh, that looks good.” Then I remembered all the thousands and millions of cows being genetically modified so those steaks can be sold at the low low price of $9.99 (or whatever it was, I wasn’t paying attention at that point) and I thought, “No, no that doesn’t look good.” And then I focused on the Taj Mahal cake Geoff was making on Ace of Cakes.

I’m growing, people, I can feel it. Come. Grow with me.

Best read while listening to “Life” by Flickerstick. My ipod likes them tonight. Can’t blame her.

Spring Ravioli with Pesto Cream (Betty Crocker “Easy Vegetarian” March 2000)

4 servings (at least 5 with a 20 oz package of pasta)

2 teaspoons olive or vegetable oil (whoops! I used 2 tablespoons. no matter.)

8 ounces green beans cut into 1.5 inch pieces (I used frozen because I had them and they were already cut for me! Score!)

1/2 medium yellow bell pepper, cut into 1/2 inch pieces (1/2 cup)

3 roma (plum) tomatoes, cut into 1/2 inch pieces (1 cup) (I used two and that was plenty)

1/2 teaspoon salt (whoops! I didn’t use any. Did I even read this recipe?)

16 ounces frozen cheese-filled ravioli (from 24 ounce package) (Are you kidding me? If I can’t cut a package in half, I don’t cut it at all. Besides all I had was a 20 ounce package.)

1/2 cup sour cream

3 tablespoons basil pesto

2 teaspoons grated lemon peel

Fresh basil leaves-if desired

Shredded lemon peel-if desired

1. Prepare ravioli as directed on the package

2. While pasta is cooking, heat oil in 12-inch nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Cook green beans and bell pepper in oil about 5 minutes, stirring frequently, until crisp-tender. Stir in tomatoes and salt. Cook 3 minutes.

3. While vegetables are cooking, mix sour cream, pesto and grated lemon peel in small bowl.

4. Toss hot cooked ravioli with vegetable mixture and sour cream mixture. Garnish with basil and lemon peel.

Now for what I did differently because boy did I change things up here. I kid, I didn’t change much because I’m not that cool or that confident in my cooking. The changes were all “financial” or “herb garden not mature yet”. stop rambling, marcoda. Ok.

1: I cooked the beans for a few minutes first because they were frozen, then I added the peppers.

2: the original instructions has steps 1 and 2 switched around and I had to turn off the heat for my veggies so they wouldn’t get all soggy and over cooked. I switched them to the correct order here so you won’t suffer what I had to suffer. You’re welcome.

3: I already mentioned how I completely forgot about the salt.

4:I used roughly a tablespoon more sour cream as I was using more pasta than the recipe called for.

5: And like hell I used grated lemon peel in the sauce. I did put in a dash of lemon pepper but I don’t think it made much of a difference. We loved it without the fancy garnish as well.

Now playing: “Pounding” by The Doves

What an appropriate song. This song and I have a history. This was my “revolution” song that got me out of a dead-end and soul-draining relationship and into my own studio apartment in Uptown Minneapolis when I was 22. It will always remind me of being free and grabbing the opportunity and running with it. It’s very empowering and it marked a turning point in my early-twenties. Here it is again at what I truly feel and hope is a turning point in my late twenties.

Download the song and make the pasta. Your life will never be the same. I guarantee it.


4 Responses

  1. Yay! Good for you veggie girl! Now, to make that recipe Vegan, all you need to do is either get Vegan ravioli (TGFthecorporatedevilthatisWholeFoods), or make your own, and swap out the sour cream for silk tofu or tofu replacement.

    PS- I’d have to have you chanting to me “just cut the tomato into tiny pieces”, drunkenly, of course.

  2. How on earth did “Whatever Gets You Off” get on your Happy Playlist?

  3. There is no song called “Life,” by Flickerstick. The only thing I can think of is maybe “Coke,” where the lyrics say “she’s got another life that I am living in my friend.”

  4. “Zombie” is on there too. OK, so maybe “Happy Playlist” isn’t the right title.

Comments are closed.

