All’s well that ends well (question mark)

Etiquette decrees that I apologize for my naughty naughty language and poor sportsmanship over the cancellation of the Bloc Party concert. But I’m not going to because, dammit, I’m still pissed off about it.

This makes at least three things I’ve looked forward to within the last 6 months that have been pushed back: Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince theatrical release, The Sims 3 release, and now this concert. I have to ask: What the hell, universe?

The woes of a suburban woman who has it pretty freaking easy, right? What right do I have to complain?

Especially when I have a husband who tried his hardest to make sure we all had a good time last night while sticking to my rules: No bowling, no movies and no sitting on our couch.

Matt found a smallish hip hop show with Asher Roth headlining. Who the hell is Asher Roth? Some white guy who raps. He was ok. Entertaining, I guess, but he only did a few songs and they were ok. By then I had more than one whiskey coke in my belly so I was all for it and dancing and stuff but I really liked the act two acts before the main one. Matt agreed. I have no idea who it was but they were really good. oh wait! Matt stole a flyer! Let me go check.

It was Muja Messiah. I think that’s him.

Before the show we went to Whitey’s where Matt had a BBQ chicken sandwich, Jessie had a veggie quesadilla and I had the nachos. Well, I tried to have the nachos. There was a lot of damn nachos there! I got about half way through them but they were yummy. Matt left to pick up our friend Jason who tried to bring up the canceled Bloc Party show but we cut him off: “We’re not talking about that!”

At the show we got our white boy/girl dancing on, yo. And Jessie introduced me to Jamison and Bailey’s on ice. Quite possibly the best drink I’ve ever tasted. I will have to get my own sometime. AND it so did not snow like the weather man was saying it would so take that, March. However, it was very windy when we left the club and my cute hat blew right off my head and I had to chase it down in heels but I triumphed! Which is a good thing because that hat was the source of much amusement at the show and I’d hate to lose it after the first wearing.

We didn’t get home until 1:30 or so and didn’t get to bed until after 2. This morning started off ok but by 10:30 I was cranky and scowly and needing my bed. Lucky for me I planned ahead and took a half day at noon. WHOO! Unfortunately, my plan to pick up the kids at 3 fell through because when Matt called me and woke me up it was 4:45. Oops. Sorry, MIL. But, man, that sleep felt great!

I thanked him several times last night but I have to say it again: Thank you, Matt, for ensuring the night was not a complete bust. While the details had changed, the over all plan remained in tact: Go out with friends, get tipsy and dance. Thank you thank you thank you.

And dammit, we will see Bloc Party one of these days. Soon I hope.

3 Responses

  1. […] 31, 2009 in Bingmar, Photos Trying to figure out what to post; too tired. Here. Look at […]

  2. happy effing april fools…i found snow on my car this morning! Glad you all were able to find something else to do 🙂

  3. Don’t even get me started on the snow. Co-worker asked who ordered the snow and I said, “I did. Because I hate everybody in the entire world.” Stupid effing snow.

Leave a Reply

