Tid bits and stuff

What are your middle names?
Lee and Robert. You figure who has which.
How long have you been together?
6 years I think? 7? I’m terrible at remembering. Matt’s the one who remembers our “dating” anniversary.
How long did you know each other before you started dating?
5 or 6?
Who asked whom out?
If “who asked” means who got drunk at a party and collected $17 in bribe money to get the other person to kiss a guy and then promised to kiss that person if they kissed the guy and ending up making out in the dark on a hide-a-bed with the person…
That would be me.
How old are each of you?
We’re both 28. Although he’s 4 months older. I relish those four months of our May/December relationship when I get to be the hot young trophy wife.
Whose siblings do you see the most?
Hmm…this one’s tough. My sister comes over some weekends to watch the kids but we also see his sister quite a bit when we pick up our kids… However, we never see my brother or his with the exception of family gatherings. And then I do have that other sister that usually see when we pick up the older one. I would say in the matter of “quantity” of siblings, we see mine more.
Which situation is the hardest on you as a couple?
Jobs/Money. We want more money and I want to stay home with the kids. Not going to happen in this economy so Matt has to deal with my screaming “mother fucker, get a job where they pay you $100,000 a week so I can home school the kids” every few months.

I don’t actually call him or think he is a mother fucker. I’m calling the situation a mother fucker. Just thought I’d clear that up.
Did you go to the same school?
Yes we did! We both graduated from the same high school then he went off to college and I tramped off into the corporate world.
Are you from the same home town?
Home county but not home town. I moved around too much to have a “home town”.
Who is smarter?
Man, you just want us to get into a fight, don’t you?
Who is the most sensitive?
Define sensitive. I fly off the handle more but I do think Matt’s more sensitive “real feelings-wise”.
Where do you eat out most as a couple?
You mean out of the house? We don’t have a regular place unless you count the movie theatre for his giant pretzel and my red slushi.
Where is the furthest you two have traveled together as a couple?
Duluth, MN. No, we have not gone on a honeymoon but are taking donations to make that possible.
Who has the craziest exes?
HA!! Me, hands down. His ex wasn’t standing outside the club after our wedding after-party staring all creepy-like.
Who has the worst temper?
OK, in my defense, people I don’t know need to stop being such assholes. And also, how hard is it to turn off a fricken light when you’re not in the room? And furthermore in my defense: have I mentioned I’ve scaled back the swearing a whole lot. AND…well…Matt hates our internet connection. So there!
Who does the cooking?
We both do. We both LOVE cooking and hate cleaning up aftwerwards.
Who is the neat-freak?
Matt loves me so he cleans up the kitchen most of the time. I clean the bathroom sometimes. He does the litter box. We both neglect our bedroom and I clean the kids’ rooms. The basement family room gets cleaned when one of us discovers Jaden has created a mine field by way of stepping on the shrapnel.
Who is more stubborn?
I’m Swedish. We’re stubborn. Deal with it.
Who hogs the bed?
Ha! Finally, Matt gets to look bad. He’s such a hog. If I get up for a minute to help one of the kids, I’ll come back to find both of his giant german legs completely spread out all spread eagled. Don’t even get me started on the blankets. We had to have separate blankets for awhile.
Who wakes up earlier?
Me. All Me.
Where was your first date?
We went to Old Chicago. I bought dinner and he was going to buy a bottle of wine afterwards to drink at my place. Then the liquor didn’t accept cards so I bought the wine. Good times.
Who is more jealous?
We don’t really get jealous. I just wish he would at least hide his mistress from me. Makes dinner a little awkward.
How long did it take to get serious?
Did you not read the whole making out on the hide-a-bed thing? OK, to elaborate, it took a few months before we made our secret relationship known. Somehow people totally bought the whole “She’s moving into my spare bedroom because she lost her job” story. Suckers.
Who eats more?
Matt. I’m amazed, really. He dishes up, I dish up and by the time I’ve put the spoon back in the bowl, he’s half way done.
Who does the laundry?
Both wash but I usually fold. Unless it his socks. They get thrown into a pile for him to sort out later. I hate socks.
Who’s better with the computer?
For Christmas 2007 I had the brilliant idea to buy Matt a laptop for his music production stuff. Only I had no idea what I was doing. Long story short I ended up paying $450 for a laptop with no operating system, managed to get one from my techie brother in law’s friend only to find out it wouldn’t run Matt’s music software. It’s now sitting unused in the basement.
Matt picked out my lap top for me. I love her. I mean him. I love Matt.
Who drives when you are together?
Carpooling for work: Me. Any other time: Matt. I did make him drive to work yesterday because he kept telling me to slow down even though I was only going 32 in a 30. He was shocked when I handed him the keys after dropping of the kids. That’ll learn him.

 

I’d be interested to see how other people’s relationships run. And if Matt’s still speaking to me when we get home.

One Response

  1. you are very cute!

    My favs…

    “I relish those four months of our May/December relationship when I get to be the hot young trophy wife.”

    “OK, in my defense, people I don’t know need to stop being such assholes. And also, how hard is it to turn off a fricken light when you’re not in the room? And furthermore in my defense: have I mentioned I’ve scaled back the swearing a whole lot. AND…well…Matt hates our internet connection. So there!”

Leave a Reply

