Jonas: 6 Months

Jonas. Mr. Jonas. Sir. Wonderboy. j. Buddy. Doughnut. Little Man. Mr. Man. These are all names he’s aquired over the last 6 months. Pretty impressive if you think about it. That’s over a word a month. I have to wonder which names will stick. Jaden’s got “J-Bird” from me and “Peanut” from Matt. So far it’s Mr. Jonas and Wonderboy. And Buddy. And Mr. Man. And Sir.

Ok, so we don’t have a set nick-name for him. I don’t think he minds though. He’s just happy as long as you smile or sing to him.

What are those things in his mouth?

What are those things in his mouth?

What things? OH! These things?

Those would be his two first teeth.

Those would be his two first teeth.

They came within a couple weeks of each other. We think he’s working on some more because dude is da-rooling like crazy. I was going to post a new “Wonderboy!” pic but I kept getting drooled on. It was gross. So let’s not dwell on that. Instead here is proof that he is teething:

It's not solid proof but he is putting EVERYTHING into his mouth these days.

It's not solid proof but he is putting EVERYTHING into his mouth these days.

Including cereal. He has eaten a shit ton of food this month. He went from one little cube of frozen whatever (we make our own baby food. It’s not nearly as glamorous or hard core as it sounds. We’re just lazy and broke. I’ll show ya’ll how to do it over on Marcoda Cooks? some time.) to two squares with oatmeal (no longer rice. That only lasted two small boxes.) and formula mixed in. I know you can’t possibly know what the hell I’m talking about as far as quantity goes but rest assured: it is, in fact, a shit ton of food. He’s drinking fewer bottles during the day which also equals less puking. All said he has cereal/veggie/fruit (all together) three times a day and a bottle 4 times a day and he’s still getting at least one small one over night. How does he feel about these foods? Sweet potatoes and apple sauce are his favorites. He also likes green beans and pears. He’s not digging the peas too much

"I don't like peas."

"I don't like peas."

At some point over the past few days I had the brilliant idea of adding apples to the peas. That seems to help although he still protested a ton.

Wait til I introduce squash. Mwa ha ha!

While Jaden continues to be his favorite playpal

The SS Bingmar before the monkeys took over.

The SS Bingmar before the monkeys took over.

he did receive a shiny new hammer. Well, not shiny but it does do a great impression of glass breaking

It will never replace his love for his little red hammer, but it sure is tasty.

It will never replace his love for his little red hammer, but it sure is tasty.

In addition to the new hammer, he discovered the true joy that bath time can bring

You may have also noticed in the pictures that he’s growing hair like crazy. Not to compare children but Jaden didn’t have this much hair until she was well over a year old. Not comparing, just sayin…where the hell was Jaden’s hair growth genes?

Another thing that he has that another of his family members don’t (ahem, his mother) is the crazy cool ability to raise an eye brow.

I'm very very jealous of this talent.

I'm very very jealous of this talent.

Another crazy cool talent he is demonstrating in this pic (and the following video) is his amazing sitting skillz (oh, yeah, I used a “z”.) which he perfected over the last few weeks. He hardly ever falls and only does so when an evil toy betrays his trust:

This month Jonas participated in his first trip to the Science Museum and his first JDRF walk. Both of those experiences can be summed up with one pic from one of the trips:

Life is grand in the stroller.

Life is grand in the stroller.

Sure one involved the largest mall in the US and the other involved crazy lights and shadows but his attitude was the same for both: “Whatever. It’s cool.” with an occassional, “Where’s my bottle, woman?”. That’s how he  is all the time, really. As long as his tummy is full, his ear isn’t all infected and crap (which, by the way, should be all better with out any more evil insurance company crap. Woo hoo. There I go counting my chickens again.) he’s happy as a clam. Although he has started a routine of being all cranky and “hold me please” and “I will not eat a thing unless you’re holding me. I mean now, woman!” these last couple weeks around the evening dinner hours which is anywhere from 4:30 until 7 or 6:45, whichever comes first. Or whenever mommy and daddy are done.

Don't cry, Jonas

Don't cry, Jonas

But you know what? I’m ok with that. Yes I am.

Happy 6 Months, Wonderboy!

Happy 6 Months, Wonderboy!

3 Responses

  1. Oh my god, that last picture absolutely did me in! Too cute! We must get a picture of him in that hat sitting next to Meena.

    Happy six months, Jonas, you crazy, adorable, amazing little person!

  2. Dear lord…will you clone this child already so i can nom nom those cheeks!!!! To cute WAY TOO CUTE…cuteness everywhere… now i can see why you want to be a stay at home mommy 😛

  3. Damn straight! The other night I found myself nomming matt’s neck…non romantically. He cleared his throat and said, “You do realize I’m not Jonas…”

Leave a Reply

