Resowhatsits

It’s happened, people. After 27ish years of never having to worry about what I ate or how lazy I was (oh stop hating. You can’t get all uppity about my gene pool. I didn’t ask to be skinny. It’s just how I am. Or was. *sob*) I have reached a point where I seriously need to start caring about physical activity and watching what I eat.

 

No, I’m not “fat” but I ain’t no spring chicken either. Or something. The point is when I look in the mirror I find myself pointing at my flabby wrinkled tummy and the newly developed rolls on my hips and hissing, “You’re gross.” Sure there’s the fun that comes from making my tummy jiggle but that’s pretty short lived and not really worth the blow to my mental health.

 

I’m not alone in my lack of positive body image (dur. Hello, world! I’m self absorbed! How are you?) as my husband has also been feeling pretty non-pretty. You know what I mean. And so in the tradition of failed New Year’s Resolutions Matt and I have decided to go on a diet and exercise program. Well, not so much a diet but more Matt’s going to work on portion control and I’m going to work on not eating at Taco Bell. Every day.

 

Friday evening we all went to the grocery store and loaded up on good foods. I bought TOFU, people, and made something super super yummy that I am totally going to make again whether my family likes tofu or not: Fast and Easy Tofu Lo-Mein. So quick and so easy and so very yummy and good for you.

 

Sunday Matt made burritos. Slightly less good for you.

 

Yesterday I threw it all out the window and made this:

Chicken Florentine Casserole

INGREDIENTS

  • 3 skinless, boneless chicken breasts
  • 3 tablespoons olive oil
  • 3 teaspoons minced garlic
  • 1 tablespoon lemon juice
  • 1 (10.75 ounce) can condensed cream of mushroom soup
  • 1/2 tablespoon Italian seasoning
  • 1/2 cup half-and-half
  • 1/2 cup grated Parmesan cheese
  • 1 box frozen spinach, drained and pressed
  • 4 ounces fresh mushrooms, sliced
  • 2 cups shredded mozzarella cheese

      1)      preheat oven to 375 degrees

2)      cut up chicken into chunks

3)      cook chicken and minced garlic together in a pan with olive oil

4)      After chicken is cooked, add the soup, half-and-half, 6 oz. shredded mozzarella, Italian seasoning and lemon juice.

5)      Stir it all up on medium heat til creamy

6)      Arrange the spinach over the bottom of a 9×9 inch baking dish. Cover the spinach with the mushrooms.

7)      Pour the creamy sauce on top of the spinach and mushroom layer. Sprinkle rest of mozzarella on top and bake for 25 minutes.

8 )      Serve on top of pasta. (I used Rotini per Jaden’s request)

 

Holy frick. This stuff is so good. So very good that even though this morning I had to peel off the pants I was originally going to wear, threw them on the ground with a “GET OUT OF HERE! I DON’T NEED YOU!”, I still brought left-overs for lunch and I’m willing to wrestle Matt for the last bit left over for dinner tonight.

 

No, we have not given up the diet after 5 days. I haven’t eaten at Taco Bell at all this week and Matt didn’t have a second burrito on Sunday and only had a small second helping of the pasta. And, people, I cannot blame him for going back for seconds.

 

Ok, sort of eating better. Check.

What am I forgetting? Hmmm…

Oh, right! Exercise!

 

Two of the bloggers that I follow religiously (Amalah and Flotsam) both started using a certain exercise DVD and because I follow my faith blindly and without question, I ran to the local big box electronics store yesterday and picked up Jillian Michaels – 30 Day Shred. OK, so I didn’t run out and get it solely because Amalah and Flotsam use it. No. I did not. I also saw that 612 random strangers had reviewed it with an average rating of 4.5 stars on amazon and if I can’t trust the total averaged opinion of 614 people I’ve never met, than who can I trust?

 

No, I don’t have my own opinion on it because I haven’t tried it yet. Last night got away from me and I blame Google Video (again) for ruining my life. They are to blame for me staying up until 10:30 posting videos on Jonas’ post because they couldn’t “process” the damn videos fast enough and also the reason I am still missing a very cute video of Jonas and Jaden playing which Matt had edited so beautifully and…ok, so I suck. But tonight, Matt and I are going to try it out. Or maybe I’m just going to try it out and he’s going to laugh at me while he does his super manly free weights session.

 

I am so so very excited to finally be doing something good for my body and so very excited about the prospect of Matt and I being all lean and ninja sexy again.

 

My goal: to come in to the office tomorrow hurting like a frigorific…spleen. What’s something that hurts when it’s cold? Ooh! I got it. Let me try again. *ahem*

 

My goal: to come in to the office tomorrow hurting like a frigorific Jessie!

3 Responses

  1. I HAVE BACK FAT!!!! I HAVE SEEN IT…I DONT LIKE IT AND I DONT KNOW WHAT TO DO I HAVE NO TIME FOR ANYTHING 😦 good luck sweetie!

  2. hey by the way….the cafe had this great roasted turkey wrap on monday….wheat wrap with Roasted turkey, spinach, pesto and red peppers…maybe not worth 4.25…but worth me thinking about making my own at home YUMMY

  3. 20 minute work out with this DVD. It’s awesome. Shorter than a sitcom episode.

Leave a Reply

