Milestone Monday July 28, 2008 (14 days to go!*)

(*7 days!!)
Not much to update this week. Still have a baby inside of me. I want him to get the eff out. I’m sick of being pregnant; I’m sick of being uncomfortable; I’m sick of watching for contractions; I’m sick. Like gross hacking cough sick. Also, with the amount of contractions I’ve had since our “false alarm” last Tuesday, so help me things had better have progressed by my appointment on Wednesday. I’m talking progressed to the point of, “let’s just get you to the hospital and help you along a bit” progressed. Graw.

Oh. I’m a tad cranky, can you tell?

Milestone 1: To Nest or Not to Nest. I’m not sure if my whirlwind house cleaning and marathon laundry session yesterday was my “nesting” energy spurt I mentioned last week or if it was just my stubborn way of keeping the damn contractions going. Either way, I ended up cleaning the living room 4 or 5 times (even though she’s partially invalid my daughter is a master at creating a mess), washing, folding and putting away 5 or 6 loads of laundry, making dinner AND home made peach cobbler. Contractions kept going all day but there was no pattern and, obviously, no labor. I’m trying to remain optimistic that they made some progress in the cervical area.

Milestone 2: Speaking of my cervix (what an odd opening statement), my husband was put in the awkward position of hearing our local liquor store guy making this comment: “So, Marcoda’s at 2cm, huh? That’s exciting.” To be fair, we know the guy. He’s the husband of Sister in Law’s friend so we can figure out how he came to know the details of my cervical diameter but still. There are some boundaries one doesn’t expect to be crossed in a public setting. I personally thought it was hilarious but only because I wasn’t there and had a great mental image of Matt stammering for some kind of response other than, “Dude! That’s my wife’s cervix your talking about!”

Milestone 3: Still very emotional. I can’t tell you how many times I cried while watching Scrubs this weekend. Really I just cried a lot this whole week. Nothing big or earth shattering (What? Pregnant women cry for no real reason?) just keeping you up to date with the emotional roller coaster that I’m on. I cried a bunch this morning when I forgot about J’s shoulder and lifted her under the arm pits to put her in her car seat and she screamed in horror and pain. So I guess I do have real reasons sometimes.

Milestone 4: People seem to forget that I still have two weeks until I’m technically due. This means that every day at work I get the “You’re still here” comments. I snapped this morning. “YES! I’m still here! NO! There’s no baby. Drop it already.” Then I bent over my desk and tried my best to hack up a lung. Cause I’m a lady.

I think that’s it, really. See? Nothing too exciting. Just waiting and waiting some more. Less than two weeks though. I say less than two weeks because I will kill my doctor if I go past my due date (August 11). This is not an idle threat. Matt’s already got an alibi set up for me and himself.

Your pregnancy: 38 weeks

How your baby’s growing:

Your baby has really plumped up. She weighs about 6.8 pounds and she’s over 19 1/2 inches long (like a leek). She has a firm grasp, which you’ll soon be able to test when you hold her hand for the first time! Her organs have matured and are ready for life outside the womb.

Wondering what color your baby’s eyes will be? You may not be able to tell right away. If she’s born with brown eyes, they’ll likely stay brown. If she’s born with steel gray or dark blue eyes, they may stay gray or blue or turn green, hazel, or brown by the time she’s 9 months old. That’s because a child’s irises (the colored part of the eye) may gain more pigment in the months after she’s born, but they usually won’t get “lighter” or more blue. (Green, hazel, and brown eyes have more pigment than gray or blue eyes.)

  “I ain’t budgin!”

How your life’s changing:

For many women, the next couple of weeks are a waiting game. Use this time to prepare your baby’s nursery or to take care of necessary tasks you may not get around to for a while after your baby’s born. Take naps, catch up on your reading, and spend uninterrupted time with your partner while you can.

Do you feel these things are slanted towards “first time moms” who have time to “nap, catch up on your reading, and spend uninterrupted time with your partner while you can.”? “Uninterrupted time.” PLease. I can’t even hug my husband without Firstborn barging in yelling, “Stop hugging mommy/daddy!” and then declaring it “Bingmar Family Hug Time.” My god but we’re sappy.

Nibbler, I say this in the kindest and most loving way possible: “Kindly remove yourself from my uterus sometime over the next few days or mommy will lose her shit.”

3 Responses

  1. See? Don’t you also wish you had lied about your due date? Damn spectators. If it makes you feel any better I know of at least 3 women who have given birth in the last month with some slight variation of the following: my water broke at 2:47am, we got to the hospital at 3:20am, and he was born at 4:15am! Yes! This, too, could be you…and me!!!!!

  2. if you haven’t seen it already do not watch Mr. Magoriums Wonder Emporium…you will cry!

    break out the castor oil!!!

  3. Ooooh oooooh ooooooh, I’ve heard nothing but horror stories about the castor oil…and all from “natural birthing” mamas. Every woman with whom I’ve discussed it with said it did nothing for their labor, but it did make them sh** uncontrollably for long periods of time. I wouldn’t want that on top of everything else!!!

Leave a Reply

