Milestone Monday July 14, 2008 (28* Days to go!)

*or 21 days!

Three weeks, people!! THREE WEEKS! Do you have any idea how fast that’s going to go? To put it into perspective, my co-worker’s little girl broke her leg jumping off the bed and had to wear a cast for three weeks. Girl is getting it off tomorrow and I swear I thought she just had it put on last week. That didn’t help you at all, did it? Ok, try this. CHRISTMAS. At the beginning of December everyone’s all, oh, Christmas is still three weeks away. I’ve got time. Then BAM! It’s the 23rd and you’re shoving old ladies out of your way to get at the last cabbage patch doll or whatever kids are playing with these days. THAT’S how fast these three weeks are going to go and I still need new breast pump accessories!

 

Milestone 1: Went shopping with J on Saturday and got some 0-3 months clothes. I’m skipping the whole newborn section seeing as the tags read 5.5-7.5 pounds and we all know I ain’t birthin’ no 7 pounder. I think Jaden wore two “newborn” outfits for two weeks. I know it’s not fair to compare children but I think when it comes to this, it’s a good idea to draw from past experience. We also got a pseudo-boppy that’s half the price of the “real” boppy and all the customer reviews raved about it so there ya go. I felt immensely better after getting that. I can’t explain why getting the nursing pillow made me feel more prepared, but it did. I still felt decidedly underprepared when the total at the check out came to $74 and all I had to show for it was some baby clothes and a nursing pillow. One of those two steps forward, one step back moments. Stupid baby costing me money. I don’t mean that, Nibbler, I really don’t! It’s just, well, I didn’t HAVE to buy anything other than diapers and milk storage bags for your sister because I got a crap ton of hand me downs from a friend. Honestly, she was set for two years. This whole “buying my baby his clothes myself” thing is new. But, I admit, a lot more fun J Look!

 

Milestone 2: I cried a LOT this week. The hormones were pretty much under control the week before but felt the need to make up for lost time I guess. Things that made me cry last week:

          stupid person asking me for a report and demanding it in two days when the customer clearly states in their request they don’t need until the end of the month

          stupid co-worker and my volunteering to help them (stupidly)

          thinking about matt being gone for four days and me taking care of J all by myself and us barely seeing each other the few days before he leaves

          the first night matt was gone and J and I got into a fight (“I have three more nights of this! I can’t do it! WAAAAAH!”)

          trying to load the dishwasher

          being just plain lonely

          reading about my favorite blogger having to leave her baby at daycare and me realizing I’m going to have to do the same thing in a few months. 

          Catching the end of Lilo and Stitch 2. Just the end. I hadn’t seen the rest of it.

          Government (which lead me to swearing off politics until the election)

–        Toots leaving.

–        A dear friend’s issues with her in-laws (I really really do not like them)

I’m sure there were more but you get the idea. Be careful with me as I’m a tad sensitive.

 

Milestone 3: Haven’t gone through the bins for the old bottles and bibs and such yet but I did bring up my breast pump which is now sitting serenely in Nibbler’s room awaiting sanitation. Cross that little item off the list. I also thought about packing my hospital bag. Still haven’t. I really need to do that. OH! And order Nibbler’s octopus.

 

Milestone 4: Had my 36 week check up this morning which revealed I’ve gained 34 pounds so far (all belly) and my cervix is 1 cm dilated on the outside but closed up tight on the inside and WAY back there. I’m currently sending threatening thoughts to my cervix and encourage you to do the same. It had better get itself in gear over the next three weeks, darn it. But, you can now understand why I’m in no real hurry to pack that bag.

Dr commented on the lack of swelling in my legs and I have to admit I thought there’d be some going on by now. My feet swell sometimes but with J I had bread dough feet at this point. It was not cute. I’m not complaining, it’s just interesting that it hasn’t really happened yet. Don’t worry, now that it’s been called to attention I’ll be a size 11 in no time.

I made a polite request to my doctor to make up a reason to put me on bed rest because I just plain don’t want to go to work anymore as people are really pissing me off. He laughed and said he really didn’t have a reason to put me on bed rest. Apparently he didn’t hear the “make some shit up” part of my request. Seriously, I read all the time about gynos who stretch the truth for free ultrasounds or bed rest or other things. Why do I get the one ethical gyno in the entire state of Minnesota? I guess that’s a good thing but still. It’s not helping me out in the “staying away from stupid fellow employees” department.

 

Milestone 5: Update on the diet: I’m still sticking to it for the most part. I no longer consult my little “portion guide” but I do make sure to have the required “groups” in every meal and don’t stuff myself. I think it’s a fair trade off. Confession: I had half a doughnut on Friday and this heavenly strawberries and ice cream thing served in a puff pastry yesterday. YUM.

Your pregnancy: 36 weeks

 

How your baby’s growing:

Your baby is still packing on the pounds — at the rate of about an ounce a day. She now weighs almost 6 pounds (like a crenshaw melon) and is more than 18 1/2 inches long. She’s shedding most of the downy covering of hair that covered her body as well as the vernix caseosa, the waxy substance that covered and protected her skin during her nine-month amniotic bath. Your baby swallows both of these substances, along with other secretions, resulting in a blackish mixture, called meconium, will form the contents of her first bowel movement.

At the end of this week, your baby will be considered full-term. (Full-term is 37 to 42 weeks; babies born before 37 weeks are pre-term and those born after 42 are post-term.) Most likely she’s in a head-down position. But if she isn’t, your practitioner may suggest scheduling an “external cephalic version,” which is a fancy way of saying she’ll try to coax your baby into a head-down position by manipulating her from the outside of your belly.

   “Geez, mom. Can you stop talking about your cervix? It’s as bad as talking about my weenie.”

 

I don’t really have much else to say, Nibbler, except dang it! Get out here already and see us!

 

 

 

One Response

  1. I wanted to wait for the weekly update before i responded to any and all posts! My have you been a busy emotional mommy to be + one in hand! You are so adorable and such a great mother….and you’ll be ready for him so dont worry (even though i know you will)….and well yeah i cried Amaya’s first day and I am sure i will cry Tysons first day (which i am WAY behind on) .. did i mention how adorable you are 🙂

Leave a Reply

