Milestone Monday June 30, 2008 (42 days to go!)

My countdown will have to start including an additional count. I’ll explain below in my “dr’s update”. Interesting developments this morning which is good because this was shaping up to be a pretty boring Milestones with heavy focus on new stretch marks I discovered on my belly (HA!) and my weird dream the other night where some creepy guy named Eddie walked in on me in the bathroom and I freaked out and he left but then kept trying to talk to me through some window in the door and when I went to complain to the host of the party they were all, “Didn’t he realize who you are, Sandra Day O’Connor?” and I was all, “No! How ignorant is he? I want him out of here as his level of creepiness is off the charts. I’m THIS close to sending him to prison. I can do that. I’m Sandra Day O’Connor.” I’m thinking I need to lay off the political talk radio…

So, as you can see, this would’ve been a very short entry. But thanks to Dr. I got some things to talk about other than “Holy crap! 6 weeks until baby gets here!” and weird dreams that are heavy on the political themes.

Milestone 1: 34 week check up today. I’ve gained 34 pounds so far three of those being in the last two weeks which is normal according to Dr. My uterus is measuring 33.5 weeks which I find interesting only because I’ve been measuring “ahead” until the last couple checks so I’m thinking Jess may be on to something in her theory of my carrying an ambitious little boy in said uterus. My pulse, blood pressure, and baby’s heart beat (160) is all terrific and wonderful. Dr says since everything is looking wonderful and normal he’s going to have me come back in two weeks instead of one but after that we’ll start the weekly checkups.

Now for the interesting developments. Dr looked over J’s delivery notes and realized (FINALLY) exactly how big she was at birth and how drawn out my labor was. (“Wow. It took you 5 hours to get from 7cm to complete.” Marcoda’s inner monologue: “Yeah, I was there, you tool.”) He even gave me a medical term for Jaden’s birth size: Macrosomia which according to the nifty little pamphlet he gave me translates, literally, to “Very Large Baby”. So, two things came out of this realization:
1) Dr is going to be keeping a close eye on my body starting at 36 weeks and if I’m ready (physically, not mentally because lord knows I’m ready now) at 39 weeks, we’re going to induce and get that kid outta there. If not, well, there’s no point in trying to force it because that could cause some damage to me and lead to no results. In other words, it would be a big fat waste of time so we’d check back at 40 weeks. Which explains my new countdown: My due date has been potentially pushed up a week. I will include the new countdown in the first paragraph as my titles are already beyond too long. For the record today’s is 35 days!
2) Mama’s on a diet! A DIET. I’ve never been on a diet before and didn’t think I’d even have to consider one until after baby came. But, in order to help fend off a 10 pounder and even though I don’t have gestational diabetes, Dr thinks it’s a good idea to me on a diabetic diet. He gave me a little pamphlet that lays out how many servings of what I get all day and then a separate printout that explains what the servings are. Here’s what I’m now going to be eating everyday:

Food Type Breakfast AM Snack Lunch PM Snack Dinner Evening Snack
Starch             1              1            2            1           2               1
Meat               1                            2            1           3               1
Milk                1                           0.5                       1
Fat                  1                            2                         2
Vegetable                                     1                         2
Fruit                                 1          1              1                           1

I won’t bore you with how much of what is a starch or fruit or whatever. Let’s just leave it at I need to go grocery shopping and this will be interesting. Seriously, though, this doesn’t sound half bad and I’ll probably continue it after baby to help with milk supply and getting into the habit of eating healthier. Plus, it’ll force my family to eat well too which is always a plus and the mark of a good mommy.

That’s it really for milestones. Except for the “holy crap! I could be looking at 5 weeks until baby instead of 6 and I still need a changing pad and bottles!” I’ll need to get those taken care of…at some point.

Your pregnancy: 34 weeks

How your baby’s growing:
Your baby now weighs about 4 3/4 pounds (like your average cantaloupe) and is almost 18 inches long. Her fat layers — which will help regulate her body temperature once she’s born — are filling her out, making her rounder. Her skin is also smoother than ever. Her central nervous system is maturing and her lungs are continuing to mature as well. If you’ve been nervous about preterm labor, you’ll be happy to know that babies born between 34 and 37 weeks who have no other health problems generally do fine. They may need a short stay in the neonatal nursery and may have a few short-term health issues, but in the long run, they usually do as well as full-term babies

For whatever reason, wordpress isn’t allowing my to post pics. Hmmm. Not cool. Well, here the link to the super cute 3-D ultrasound pic. Look at those chubby cheeks!! http://www.babycenter.com/fetal-development-images-34-weeks  

Nibbler, now that we could be meeting you a whole week sooner than originally thought, I’m a tad more anxious. I thought we had everything we needed but I keep remembering things that got busted or worn out or just plain gross during your sister’s infancy. We’re not ready! This is a pretty common theme for pregnant women and I know we’ll get it all ready and even if we don’t have everything right away, I’m a lot more confident that we’ll be ok. You won’t be warped if we have to change you on the bed if we don’t get the mattress pad right away. The rest of it is all “perks”. You’ve got clothes, you’ve got diapers, you’ve got a crib. Shoot you’re already starting off ahead of your sister in the bedroom department. REally, though, Nibbler, I can’t stop thinking about the cuddly little boy in blue jammies curled up on my or daddy’s chest. Hearing you breath and caressing your fuzzy head…Bliss doesn’t even come close to describing it. Whether you come August 4 or August 11, we’ll be ready for you.

One Response

  1. YAY … one whole week earlier!!! HEY…do you have the little mits to keep himself from scratching his face up?

Leave a Reply

