Then and Now

Jaden at 2 months, 1 week and 3 days

Jaden at 2 years, 11 months, 2 weeks and 1 day

Jaden is three years old today. This is a good thing because when I refer to her as a toddler, I feel like a liar. If I refer to her as a pre-schooler, I’m a liar too as she hasn’t started yet. Plus I’ve been calling her a three year old for about a month now. Why? Because she’s been “three” in my mind way longer than she actually has been. Two year olds are still babies. J is SO not a baby. She’s a little person who uses really long complete sentences like, “First I need to drink my milk, then I can have some candy?” Two year old Jaden pointed longingly at whatever she wanted and pleaded, “Canny, peas?”

And she negotiates now:

Me: “How about we DON’T watch Toy Story? Let’s watch American Tail.”

Jaden: “How about we watch da mouse movie?” This one being “Secret of Nimh” that I’ve been trying to get her to watch for months now. Negotiation skills AND a brain to go with them. She KNOWS I’ve been trying to get her to watch that thing but she’ll only do it on her terms.

I can’t give enough examples of how much of a little girl she is as opposed to a baby. But I still don’t understand: “when did she stop being a baby?”

Jaden,

You are my first child, my only girl, and my best friend under 27 years old. You make me laugh, you drive me crazy, and you melt my heart on a daily basis. How did we ever get so lucky as to have you pick us for your parents? Daddy and I used to talk about how we can’t imagine you as “not a baby”. But now, here you are. We don’t have to imagine it. I can imagine you now at 5 years, 7 years, 10 years…ok not 10 years. After 7 things get fuzzy again. Your personality is so strong that I can see the sassy, intelligent, and hilarious big girl you will be. Correction: Big girl you ARE.


Jaden 1 week Jaden Three Years Old

Happy birthday, my little J-bird.

Love,

Mommy

One Response

  1. It’s nice that when ever I have a bad day or just need a bit of a pick me up I can always come here and see my beautiful family. You guys are my driving forces to put up with the Dumb-mASSes on a daily basis…Well, You guys and Gas. Got to keep making money to pay for the gas…Oh, and Bills…and our house, which I guess falls into the “Bills”. But I swear, you guys are at the top of my priority list.

Leave a Reply

