Milestone Monday: June 23, 2008 (49 days to go!)

It’s weird: I’m half-way through the double-digit portion of Ye Olde Pregnancy Countdown and it still floors me that I have xx days left rather than xxx days left. (No, I’m not talking Roman Numerals, you freak.)

 

This weekend, Matt found the videos from my First Pregnancy, my First Labor and the consequent First Baby. It brought a whole new realization that this is really freaking happening: we’re going to have a Second Baby. A Second Child. A Second Thing That Zaps Any Energy and Money You Have Left When You Thought You Had No More to Give. A Second Human Being to Love More Than You Ever Thought You Could Love a Human Being.

 

Really. This is happening. In roughly 49 days.

 

Wow.

 

Milestone 1: I channeled Cartman a lot last week: “You guys, seriously, my ass!” I’m thinking I had some Sciatic nerve issues. I wasn’t numb (as many people asked. Well, those who I deemed worthy to confide “my ass hurts” to. Truth be told, I’m not as candid in real life as I am here.) but rather was in so much pain in my right ass cheek/upper thigh that I could barely walk. By the third day I was in tears whenever I stood up and had to walk (luckily, being pregnant with a Giant Baby, I didn’t have to go to the bathroom that often*). By the third day (Wednesday) I’d had enough and hated it all. Two very nice (and male) co-workers stole a comfy leather chair from our corporate board room for me to use at my desk. Between that and some yoga stretches, the pain gradually went away and I could get back to regular ol’ pelvic pain. And contractions. Yeah, those bad boys came back yesterday while I was running around cleaning the house for the baby shower and then again this morning. Nothing serious, just annoying twinges more than anything. It’s kinda like my uterus is a construction worker who wakes you up at 6am on a Sunday with a jack hammer and when you look out the window, look of rage plastered on your face and a 10 pound free weight in your hand ready for chucking, the construction worker smiles and waves, “Don’t mind me! Just practicing for when we erect the new 200+ unit condominium next month. Well, maybe next month. Our time table is a little iffy. Oh and the noise will probably get a little worse as we get closer to whenever we get the green light. Here are some breathing exercises to calm you down.” And I can’t get mad at the construction guy. It’s not his fault some corporate tool bought up the land surrounding my beloved home and decided to mess with the neighborhood’s property value. Besides, he’s probably getting some great overtime pay for working so early on a Sunday morning.

 

Did you get lost during that metaphor? *sigh* Ok, the construction worker is my uterus who simply has a job to do. The jackhammer is the contraction which is simply a tool the uterus uses to get the job done. The condominium is the labor & delivery. I haven’t decided whether the Corporate Tool is Nibbler or my Husband. On the one hand, it could be Nibbler as he’s…no, it’s my Husband. He invested the money (or “seed”) for the land…? So that would make Nibbler the……..lawyer?…holding back the completion date?

 

Ok, now I’m lost. Let’s move on.

 

 

Milestone 2: Dear Jess threw Matt and I a delightful co-ed baby shower. It was basically a regular party but with blue and green streamers, yummy cupcakes with little plastic naked babies (with frosting stuck between their legs that nobody wanted to lick off. Which actually made me feel really good about my friends. Except maybe Jess who put the naked babies there in the first place…), a diaper cake (with a “smooth winey filling” via a bottle of Caberney Savignon which I WILL be bringing to the hospital to help celebrate. Or take the edge off until it’s time for the epidural. Oh calm down, alcohol doesn’t thin the blood that much.), and cute little blue puppy slippers and baby-size shirts and onsies and itty bitty socks and adorable prints of the pics Jess took a couple weeks ago stuck in the middle of the cup cake centerpieces. And it was all concluded with the largest game of Apples to Apples I’ve ever played. And yes, I won, by saying the Inside of the Sun is magical and having my first baby’s godfather agree with me while I was laying down with said first baby so she could fall asleep.

 

So, yes, we had a baby shower and it was a lot of fun and not foofy or frilly like these things have a tendency to be. And I cooed, yes COOED over itty bitty size one and size two diapers. You’d think I would know better: itty bitty diapers still fill up with the oddest colored poop you’ve ever seen. There’s just more of them because they are so damned itty bitty. Whatever, people. The point is, it lead to one more of my “holy crap we’re having another baby” realizations. This will be a recurring theme over the next 49 +/- days. Same thing happened with Jaden. It’s like, you know you’re pregnant, you know you’re having a baby but everyone and awhile something smacks you really hard with itty bitty diapers or videos of itty bitty First Baby and you think “Holy Crap! I’m PREGNANT! I’M HAVING A BABY!! Like, less than two months.”

 

Holy crap. I’m having a baby in less than two months.

 

Someone get me a burrito.

 

That’s all I got for milestones this week but to be fair I think I rambled on more about two milestones than I have with any of my 5 or 6 milestone posts.

 

Say hello to my Pineapple:

Your pregnancy: 33 weeks

How your baby’s growing:

 

This week your baby weighs a little over 4 pounds (heft a pineapple) and has passed the 17-inch mark. He’s rapidly losing that wrinkled, alien look and his skeleton is hardening. The bones in his skull aren’t fused together, which allows them to move and slightly overlap, thus making it easier for him to fit through the birth canal. (The pressure on the head during birth is so intense that many babies are born with a conehead-like appearance.) These bones don’t entirely fuse until early adulthood, so they can grow as his brain and other tissue expands during infancy and childhood.

 “It’s getting really squished in here, mom!”
 

I cheated and read this this morning (usually I read it for the first time when I actually copy and paste it) and nearly fell over in my chair laughing:
 

 

“Many women are still feeling sexy at this stage — and their partners often agree. You may need to make some adjustments, but for most women, sex during pregnancy is fine right up until their water breaks or their labor starts.”

 

Obvious reasons why I laughed but mostly because even though I’d really really like to…do something that requires feeling sexy, it’s just not happening. Because I don’t feel remotely sexy (more power to those preggies that do. You have my jealousy). Over the past few months I seem to have grown a very large belly that frequently gets in the way of getting close to my husband preventing even a warm close hug. It’s not quite the same when you have to lean over in order to rest your head on the man you love’s shoulder. On the plus side, this is very good incentive to lose the baby weight and not gain 40 pounds in 9 months ever again.

 

Fricken A, Nibbler….You’re already causing a tremendous sense of wonder in me. I keep picturing this little baby dressed in blue. After watching the videos of your sister, I can see you even more clearly. I can remember the warm snuggles and the teeny horse cry of a new born, the first outfit, the first look into the eyes of this amazing new life…Your daddy and I just smiled at each other as we watched the video and didn’t even have to say it aloud (even though I did because I can’t keep my thoughts to myself): “We’re ready to do this again.”

 

*sarcasm

One Response

  1. […] Couple pictures, couple updates Posted on July 1, 2008 by mytymaker So Yesterday was my baby sisters baby shower….and was it ever TONS of women!  nothing compared to Marcoda […]

Leave a Reply

