Milestone Monday: June 16, 2008 (56 days left!)

Wow, what an emotional last week. No real reason, just crazy and hormonal (Be sure you catch my break downs here and here) and able to cry full rivers at a single thought. The best part? Not only are the sads really sad but the happys are really happy! So I guess they even out. Nothing like laughing maniacally at something only remotely funny (Like the German Version of Abba’s Waterloo.) to boost you up a tad.

 

I didn’t think I had much to update you all on but then I walked in front of a mirror last night without pants on and got a great look at my thighs. Let’s start with that:

 

Milestone 1:  I can deal with stretch marks (actually, I don’t think I’m getting any new ones. Jaden already laid the ground work and, let’s face it, there’s not much new territory unexplored for Nibbler.) and the giant brown nipples and I’ve even come to terms with the 30+ pounds I’ve gained thus far. As you may have guessed, I’m not the most “in shape” person out there but I’m (normally) thin and (normally) have rather nice, if pastey and stick-like, legs. Of course I refuse to wear shorts so no one ever sees them but it’s enough for me (and my husband) that they’re there when I need them.

 

UNTIL NOW! What the hell happened to my thighs? I take issue with this strange lumpiness that has started to appear on my upper thighs below my curvaceous rump. I’m thinking this is what people refer to as cellulite? It’s not exactly cottage cheesy (the thought of which makes me throw up a little) but it’s lumpy and scares the crap out of me. Will this go away after the baby? I understand I’ll have to actually TRY to lose the baby weight this time but if my legs are going to look all lumpy (yes, that’s the only adjective I have, smartass) what’s the freaking point? So, tips and pointers are very much welcome from those of you have experienced this nastiness before.

 

Milestone 2: Seriously, I had to remind and remind and remind myself NOT to forget this particulary milestone. Preggie brain has moved in, unpacked, and scattered its belongings to the far corners of my skull. I’ve been a tad scatter brained before but this week it REALLY hit. Let’s see if I can remember some examples for you:

-pouring a bowl of cereal, getting a spoon and the milk and sitting down at the table. Forgetting my bowl of cereal back on the counter. FOUR TIMES. Twice in one day once.

-going downstairs and forgetting why (which is significant because I only go down for two reasons: feeding the cat or doing laundry)

-asking my nurse for a THIRD pre-registry form for the hospital (instead of giving me another one, she informed me that I can register online. WHOO! Of course now I have to remember where I put my damn insurance cards. And NOT lose the damn flyer with the web address on it.)

-showing up at a parade with NO chairs even though we have three of our own (plus 15 that other people brought to our house warming) after walking by said chairs three times before actually leaving my house

 

And I don’t remember the rest but they mostly circulate around leaving something somewhere and having no clue as to what I’m looking for let alone where I put the damn thing. I’ve taken to repeating to myself what I’m on my way to do while I’m walking there so I won’t forget. It’s all very pathetic and sad and won’t be getting any better any time soon. Please forgive me if I was supposed to do something for you. And remind me. Several times.

 

Milestone 3: “The Swellening”.  For the last month or so I’ve been checking the ability of my wedding ring to slide off my finger. It’s been getting tight and Wednesday during “So You Think You Can Dance” it refused to budge without the aid of some lubricant (story of my life). It’s now swinging merrily from a black cord thing around my neck. I could just tuck it away someplace safe until after the baby and swelling but I’m actually MARRIED this time and I’ll be damned if I’m going to get any weird looks from people. It’s funny how paranoia sets in when you’re pregnant. I’m sure perfect strangers could give a rat’s swollen butt if I’m married or not. It’s not like I live in some Bible-thumping Southern town or anything. But still. I wear my ring proudly around my neck. I feel like an un-wed teenage mother wearing her boyfriend’s class ring. It’s all very chic.

 

Milestone 4: had my 32 week check up this morning complete with ultrasound. Here are the stats:

Weight (mom): gained 31 pounds thus far (on my way to the 45 pound mark of my first pregnancy. “But, Marcoda”, you ask, “can you really gain 14 pounds in less than two months?” To which I respond, “Are you challenging me? Challenge accepted, punk.”)

Weight (baby): estimated at 5 pounds. You’ll see in the BabyCenter update that my kid is AWESOME and already over-achieving. As a friend suggested, perhaps he’s the kind of person who gets up early, does all his work and then relaxes the rest of the day. If he’s anything like his parents, this is a long shot but I hold out hope.

Measurement of uterus: 32 ½ weeks. This is a monumentous event. For the first time this entire pregnancy, I’m measuring close to “on-schedule” instead of racing on ahead to see what’s coming up. Last check up I was measuring 33 weeks at 30 weeks. So, I’m very happy about this. Perhaps friend’s theory is correct and he’s going to just skate through the next two months and only gain a little more.

Ultrasound results: The cysts Dr found on Nibbler’s brain on the last ultrasound have gone away. WHOO! This was expected on Dr’s part and husband and I were inclined to go along with him but there’s always that lingering question of “What if?”. So, seeing the brain looking all wrinkly and brain-like without weird large spots was wonderful and full of relief. Dr checked out the rest of the baby and said he’s looking, “like a good and healthy baby”. I even got to see a hint of a chubby cheek, which isn’t easy to do on those screens. This isn’t a fancy schmancy 3D ultrasound. Oh and he’s still DEFINITELY a boy. I know they say the baby’s genitalia is swollen due to the surge of hormones from mom but I was NOT expecting that. (I felt almost dirty looking at the ultrasound!) His “sack”, so to speak, made it very clear that the collection of blue in the nursery closet will be well used.

Baby coming early?: I’m not taking any bets on this one. Dr says perhaps because he’s measuring big he’ll come a week early but I’m thinking he’ll be just as stubborn as his sister. I’m ok with this. After reading what a premie has to go through and how helpless a parent feels during it, Nibbler can just stay in there and kick the crap out of me all he wants.  Until his due date. Then he’s getting evicted.

 

Your pregnancy: 32 weeks

 

How your baby’s growing:

By now, your baby weighs 3.75 pounds (pick up a large jicama) and is about 16.7 inches long, taking up a lot of space in your uterus. You’re gaining about a pound a week and roughly half of that goes right to your baby. In fact, she’ll gain a third to half of her birth weight during the next 7 weeks as she fattens up for survival outside the womb. She now has toenails, fingernails, and real hair (or at least respectable peach fuzz). Her skin is becoming soft and smooth as she plumps up in preparation for birth.

I love this part:

How your life’s changing:

To accommodate you and your baby’s growing needs, your blood volume has increased 40 to 50 percent since you got pregnant. With your uterus pushing up near your diaphragm and crowding your stomach, the consequences may be shortness of breath and heartburn. To help relieve your discomfort, try sleeping propped up with pillows and eating smaller meals more often.

You may have lower-back pain as your pregnancy advances. If you do, let your caregiver know right away, particularly if you haven’t had back pain before, since it can be a sign of preterm labor.

Assuming it’s not preterm labor that’s ailing you, you can probably blame your growing uterus and hormonal changes for your aching back. Your expanding uterus shifts your center of gravity and stretches out and weakens your abdominal muscles, changing your posture and putting a strain on your back. Hormonal changes in pregnancy loosen your joints and the ligaments that attach your pelvic bones to your spine. This can make you feel less stable and cause pain when you walk, stand, sit for long periods, roll over in bed, get out of a low chair or the tub, bend, or lift things.

Basically, what they’re saying is, “Sucks to be you.”

Oh, here’s a jicama (pronounced “Hick-a-ma” if you’re American with no hispanic background or training):

  

I have no idea what it’s used for other than fetal size comparison. Is it a fruit? Is it a vegetable? Google it and let me know. Thanks.

 

Those are some kissy lips! Seriously, it’s like a real baby. Hmmm…maybe I DO want Nibbler to come out now. JUST KIDDING!

 

Baby, you have no idea the relief I felt when the doctor said you looked good and well on your way to being a nice healthy baby. Now I can go back to imagining you on the outside, making your little newborn noises, stretching your little newborn body, making your little newborn faces. A warning: You are in for such a snuggling when you get out. You should be aware now that both your father and I were cats in a former life so nuzzling is just something we do a lot of. Your sister talks about you a lot now. I told her we had to go get her a new swimsuit and she said, “And we have to get a swimsuit to the baby.” I tried explaining that you won’t be needing a swimsuit until next summer. Yesterday was Father’s Day and I envisioned next Father’s Day when your dad will have two kiddlings crawling all over him. I laid in bed grinning like a goof at the thought.

I’ve made a vow to not complain about how big you might be or how painful your kicks are (though I’ll still wince). How can I complain about having a healthy baby when there are so many moms and babies who aren’t as lucky? You get as big as you want and come out whenever you’re ready.

But I’m not kidding about the eviction thing.

 

6 Responses

  1. you asked for it and now you know

    “Jícama (Spanish: hee-kah-mah, from Nahuatl xicamatl hee-kah-mahtl), also Mexican Potato and Mexican Turnip, is the name of a native Mexican vine, although the name most commonly refers to the plant’s edible tuberous root. Jicama is one species in the genus Pachyrhizus that is commonly called yam bean, although the “yam bean” sometimes is another name for Jicama. The other, major species of yam beans are also indigenous within the Americas.”

    and knowing is half the battle!

  2. oooh…and further reading says that they are sweet like apples and used in fruit salads….so i really didn’t help cuz it appears they swing both ways 😀

  3. Darn Bi-curious Jicama!

  4. My aunt used to put Jicama on salads and it was like a very crunchy, mildly sweet cucumber. Kind of. Yummy!

    I’m still not sure where this supposed 30 pounds is on you (other than Nibbler’s five). I think the doctor is playing a trick. Tricksy doctor man.

    How awesome would it be if most of that 30 pounds were Nibbler’s adamantium bones and claws??? Very awesome, that’s how.

  5. As long as he keeps the claws retracted, I’m in!

  6. Mmm jicama, awesome veggie, love it in salads.

Leave a Reply

