Milestone Monday June 9, 2008 63 days left!!

Woah. 63 days. 2 months. 9 weeks left!! As crazy as this may sound, sometimes I forget there’s an end to this thing and there’s a baby waiting at that end. This pregnancy has been different in many ways than my first but mostly in the mental sense. I’ve been so distracted with other things (mostly Kid #1) that I haven’t really focused on this one like I was able to with Jaden. All I did during my first pregnancy was sit on the couch and dream about the pregnancy. And watch WAY too many episodes of “A Baby Story” and read BabyCenter all day long.

This time, it all seems “old hat”. I don’t mean that in a bad way, I’m just more experienced this time. I’m not focused on the pregnancy itself but rather on making sure we’ll all be able to handle the new addition (which will get a post all its own because, wow! Am I nervous about that.). Dear Jessie came over yesterday to take pics and while it was fun to be all “posey” and pregnant, it almost seemed routine. Which is crazy because we’ve only done preggie pics once before. God, I hope I don’t sound unenthused. I am SO excited for this little guy to come. I think I’m just “over” the pregnancy part. And scared to death of the baby part. I think even more so than the first time. (again, that will all be covered in a later post).

I don’t have much for milestones this week. I’m really in the “growing and waiting” period so there’s not much new to report. No contractions like the previous week, peeing almost every hour, going from sleeping really well to not sleeping at all, and crying. Have I mentioned crying yet? My gosh. All the time crying, or at least on the verge of. I actually came close this morning when I heard about Clinton’s speech giving her support and endorsment to Obama. I was all “YES! Thank you! We’re coming together again!” and then when I heard more about their meeting at Senator Feinstein’s house, I got all teary again: “Look at them talking like regular people! They don’t hate eachother! That’s so great!” The political season is not the best time to be pregnant, let me tell you. And then there was crying over dealing with Jaden, getting upset with my husband, and other things that are much less significant but no less tear enducing. One big tear jerker was reviewing my “pregnancy book” I got from the doctor last time. Mostly the “labor and delivery and recovery” parts. I realized Matt really is the best coach ever and I also realized I’m convinced I’m going to end up having a c-section this time. I have no basis for this conviction. I’m pregnant and crazy. You’re expecting rationality? HA!

So that’s where I am now: Crying, peeing, scared, and tired.  Good times, let me tell you.

Your pregnancy: 31 weeks

How your baby’s growing:

This week, your baby measures over 16 inches long. He weighs about 3.3 pounds (try carrying four navel oranges) and is heading into a growth spurt. He can turn his head from side to side, and his arms, legs, and body are beginning to plump out as needed fat accumulates underneath his skin. He’s probably moving a lot, too, so you may have trouble sleeping because your baby’s kicks and somersaults keep you up. Take comfort: All this moving is a sign that your baby is active and healthy.

See that little sack like thing below the baby’s head? That’s the bladder. I don’t know WHY I need to pee so often…

 “Where’s my thumb? It was right here a second ago.”  LOOK AT THOSE CHEEKS. Sweet merciful crap. They’re begging to be nibbled and they’re not even fully plumpified yet.

Nibbler, I’m so scared about not giving you the love and attention I know you deserve. That’s the plight of all parents with more than one kid and I know I’ve mentioned this before. I love you so much and I want you to know that. No matter what. I love you.

One Response

  1. Oy, the crying! Just reading your post made me cry! I cry when I’m happy, I cry when I’m mad, I cry because I cried…damn hormones.

Leave a Reply

