Milestone Monday June 2, 2008 70 days left!

30 weeks, baby! 10 weeks to go! Woo-hoo! Oy. 10 weeks. That’s still quite a hike. But wow, 10 weeks! 70 days! That’s two months and ten days. Wow. That’s like….just over 2 months left.

 

How little sense am I making? A whole little sense, that’s how little. Wrap your head around that one. What I’m saying is, “while 10 weeks seems like a lot left, that’s only 10 weeks!”

 

Ahem. So today I had my 30 weeks check up. Here are the highlights:

1) Measuring 33 weeks. That’s 3 weeks ahead of schedule. Last time I measured 1.5 weeks.

2) Dr. says that since I had a difficult delivery with J, my chances of going pre-term with this one is…well it’s not there.

3) Dr. had FIVE deliveries this weekend, four of which were boys which meant he had four circumcisions to do. I also found out he’s done around 600 circumcisions during his career. Good to know.

3) Dr. thought it prudent to remind me that I’m going to be very pregnant during the hottest part of the summer. To which I replied: “Thank you. I hadn’t thought about that nor had I heard it enough from the ten relatives who thought it necessary to point it out this weekend.” He got a dirty look from me to go along with my underlying “Dumbass” statement.

4) Scheduled an ultrasound for two weeks from today to check on the cysts the dr found at the first ultrasound and make sure they’re either gone or not getting bigger. And hopefully find out that baby is right on schedule, size-wise, and perhaps my uterus is full of water or something which would explain the size difference.

5) Dr wants me to take a fasting glucose test in two weeks (same appointment as the ultrasound) just to make sure my glucose is still ok since I was borderline last time.

6) baby’s heart rate was at 158 so he’s definitely doing ok in there.

 

Let’s move on to the Milestones, shall we?

 

Milestone 1: Wednesday morning I was telling Husband how Nibbler hasn’t had any hiccups but J had them all the time. That afternoon: hiccups. They were mild and short-lived but I thought it was funny that he felt the need to prove mom wrong.

 

Milestone 2: Pain was in full force last week. Particularly Wednesday and Thursday when I had some much stronger Braxton Hicks than I’d been having. They were so consistent Thursday morning that they woke me up around 3:30. I monitored them for an hour, they weren’t regular but right on top of each other. They also didn’t get any stronger but calmed down enough for me to go back to bed. They started up again when I got up at 6 and didn’t stop until 10. I haven’t felt them since. Obviously they weren’t “real” contractions. But I really want to kick Dr. Hicks who said these “false contractions” were virtually painless and were minor twinges of discomfort. Because he would NOT have felt mildly discomforted if he were suffering these fake contractions in combination with sever gas pain AND a giant baby moving around. Trust me. Ugh. Not one of my prouder moments but I ended up in bed Thursday evening crying to Husband about how it was not fair that I should be suffering three different types of pain at the same time. Oh I know “fair” doesn’t come into play when you’re talking pregnancy but I was tired of hurting so allow me that one moment of weakness. I got over it and went and finished my burrito, don’t worry. And it was a good burrito.

 

Milestone 3: Another way Nibbler opted to prove mom wrong was “not kicking my ribs”. Did that yesterday morning and man I forgot exactly how much they hurt. I’d been saying, “At least he’s not in my ribs like his sister” so I know that I KNEW it hurt more but man. Nothing like the real thing to bring it all back to you.

 

Milestone 4: Weird dream alert: Had another dream where I had the baby early AND slept through the labor. (PLEASE let this be two really good signs). This time I was at home and Matt delivered the baby. He was even kind enough to make notes on a roll of toilet paper with a pencil and hung it on the wall for me since I slept through the whole thing. Labor was three hours long and I gave birth to a healthy baby cat. Yes, cat. (Weird thing about this, aside from the obvious, is my friend had a dream a few months ago where she gave birth to a cat/human. As her husband said, “Think baby Hermione from Chamber of Secrets.”) So we called the pediatrician who came to the house and declared that the cat-baby was healthy and we had nothing to worry about. Other than the baby being a cat. Then the baby was suddenly a human baby (yay!) only he was 6 months old and crawling around looking at stuff. Then J asked when the baby was leaving. Uh-oh. I hope that’s NOT a sign of things to come.

What all these baby dreams come down to is this: I need to cuddle with a baby. And soon. Preferably my own but I’ll take substitutes.

Your pregnancy: 30 weeks

 

How your baby’s growing:

Your baby’s about 15.7 inches long now, and she weighs almost 3 pounds (like a head of cabbage). A pint and a half of amniotic fluid surrounds her, but that volume will decrease as she gets bigger and takes up more room in your uterus. Her eyesight continues to develop, though it’s not very keen; even after she’s born, she’ll keep her eyes closed for a good part of the day. When she does open them, she’ll respond to changes in light but will have 20/400 vision — which means she can only make out objects a few inches from her face. (Normal adult vision is 20/20.)

  My gosh, it amazes me how in just a few weeks, baby has gone from weird alien life form to …a baby. Look at that! It could be a sepia pic of him sleeping in his crib two months from now!

 

I’m excited to see the difference in my ultrasounds from 18 weeks to 32 weeks. It won’t be a clear difference since we’re not getting the 3-D ultrasound but i’m sure we’ll notice some difference. As long as he’s not suddenly a “she” I think we’ll be all right.

Leave a Reply

