Milestone Tuesday May 27, 2008 (76 days to go!)

Oh how badly I spaced out my Monday Milestone update yesterday. Darn you, Memorial Day! That’s not fair. I can’t blame the holiday. Well, I can, because I’m just THAT blameless but it wouldn’t be fair to the holiday. So I take back the blame and will just say, “I forgot.”

Not that I have much to update, really. I spoke with my husband this weekend and told him my milestones aren’t really milestones anymore. It’s the same thing: Pain, contractions, hormones. What else can I say? This post will be short, in other words. Actually, it’s me. It won’t be short. I talk a lot. In the written word I mean. See? There I go. No, wait, I talk a lot in the spoken word too.

Milestone 1: Baby’s room is 99% done!!! Painted, stickered and got the CUTEST crib bedding ever on Thursday: http://www.babysupermall.com/main/products/lai/lai21006v.html?aff=frog NO, we did NOT pay that much for it (thank you, eBay!) and YES it is even cuter in person. I’m totally geeking out about being able to decorate a nursery with this baby. So one thing the second baby gets that first baby didn’t get (other than even more lax parenting) is a brand spanking new nursery and such. And lots of blue clothing. We got a couple really cute pieces from the inlaws this weekend (that they picked up in Seattle) including a windchime and coat hanger thing. Those still have to go up plus we’re going to get a shelf to hang up on the wall that will house my Yellow Submarine snowglobe and a cute tiny treasure chest that also came from the inlaws (Big Sister Jaden got a slightly bigger one and they’re both filled with sea shells and pretty stones. Jaden LOVES it!). There are a few baby furniture things in there that came from the garage that I’ll need to get out of there. But that’s for ME to do. Poor hubby worked himself ragged seeding and watering the yard and cleaning out the garage this weekend (I GRINNED this morning when I went out there to throw away something. Totally going to park my car in there today!) Well, he MAY need to carry the high chair down stairs but I’ll take care of the toys and other things. So help me GAWD this house will be ready for the housewarming this weekend! Oh and for baby’s arrival. Speaking of which:

Milestone 2: I still have 76 days left. SEVENTY SIX. This is creating a huge mind f*** for me. We determined this weekend that my belly is as big as it was when I had my preggie pics taken the first time when I was 8 months pregnant. Like, to the month. So when you’re that big and this sore your mind seems to think you should be having the baby in two weeks, not THREE MONTHS.  And yet, part of my brain keeps forgetting I AM pregnant and thinks it can make my body run around the house just as fast and as much as before. Oh and chase the preschooler around yelling “I’m going to get you!” and then collapse in peels of laughter. My mind also seems to be trying to trick itself into thinking there’s whiskey in my coke. Not now, but yesterday. It was the only way I could deal with

Milestone 3: Jaden being in full defiant pre-schooler mode yesterday morning. After the third spill of the day (before NOON) that consisted of strawberry milk all over the table, the cushioned chair and the carpet, Matt looked at me and voiced my thoughts exactly: “How are we going to handle two of them?” I don’t know, sweetie. I don’t know. But we will. Don’t really have much of a choice. Oh about 45 minutes later Jaden broke an adorable picture frame in her room. Oy. How ARE we going to handle two of them? This has been a thought that has crossed our minds several times and I’m sure we’re not the first parents to have this concern. We’re also not the first to figure it out as we go along. That’s how we raise Jaden. Why should Nibbler get any special treatment?

That’s about it (oh, and lots of hormonal crying in the bathroom but we don’t need to get into that).

My gosh. He looks like a real baby:

Your pregnancy: 29 weeks

 

How your baby’s growing:

Your baby now weighs about 2 1/2 pounds (like a butternut squash) and is a tad over 15 inches long from head to heel. His muscles and lungs are continuing to mature, and his head is growing bigger to make room for his developing brain. To meet his increasing nutritional demands, you’ll need plenty of protein, vitamins C, folic acid, and iron. And because his bones are soaking up lots of calcium, be sure to drink your milk (or find another good source of calcium, such as cheese, yogurt, or enriched orange juice). This trimester, about 250 milligrams of calcium are deposited in your baby’s hardening skeleton each day.

AND did you see that? It’s for my baby that I must eat a crap ton of cheese. Bring on the cheese!

 Wow, he looks a little defiant. I can almost see the anarchist tattoo.

Nibbler, thank you for giving me an excuse to eat steak, hamburgers and cheese. Your sister demanded Taco Bell and Subway. Those got old. Cheese? Bring it on! Your aunt is going to have her baby August 25. I’m a little jealous that she has an exact date to look forward to. I just have “August”. You have no idea how impatient I’m getting to meet you. I look at your bedroom and imagine you in the crib pushing yourself up and trying to look around. Your daddy pictures you on your back kicking like crazy. I tell him, that’s not a stretch, you’re already practicing your kicks. I’ve been dreaming about holding babies. Not even you, just babies. I’m completely ready to hold MY little boy and I won’t let go until you make me. And then I’ll let go and do my best to hide my tears of pride and sadness that you don’t need your mama’s arms anymore. I’ll also hide my happiness when you cry in the middle of the night and only my arms will sooth you. But who knows? You may want nothing to do with me and be a complete daddy’s boy. If that’s the case, you couldn’t pick a better person. I hope our actions as parents are good enough for you. If it helps, everything we do (mistakes and successes) are attempts at showing you how much we really do love you.

This has just become one long ramble about how excited we are for you, how nervous we are about having you but mostly how much we love you already. That love will never stop growing.

One Response

  1. just make me cry 😦 i want a baby … crappers no i dont scratch that…i want a three car garage house that my boyfriend lives with me in first! HA there… no babies all though i am beginning to wonder what kind of affect two weddings in a row is gonna have on the b/f…one he will “officially” be in and i the personal attendant and the other the two of us sitting right next to each other watching it…. hmmm…think it’ll put ideas in his head…god i hope so!

Leave a Reply

