The Pit Falls of Being Polite

I’ve mentioned before how durned polite my daughter is. She’s gotten the please and thank yous down pretty well. We’ve been working on “asking nicely” the first time. Usually it goes like this:

“Gimme some water.”

“How do we ask nicely?’

“Can you give me some water please?”

And magically the girl gets some water. We’re still working on her listening to OUR requests when WE say please, but as I understand it the two way politeness street is currently one way due to road work. Or something.

So I’m totally thrilled because she’s starting to ask nice the first time without being reminded. It’s not all the time, but it’s a start in the right direction.

Unfortunatley, we’re also running into the problem of “just because you asked nicely does not automatically entitle to you said request.” Example from two minutes ago:

“No you can’t have the tape. We need that for your socks.” (eczema…socks on hands at night…tape…you know)

“Please can I have the tape?”

“No, honey, you can’t.”

“Puh-lease!” (in a very plaintiff, woe is me sort of voice)

“No.”

“Puh-lease!”

“No.”

“Puh-lease!”

“No.”

“Puh-lease!”

“No.”

“Puh-lease!”

“No.”

“Puh-lease!”

“No.”

“Puh-lease!”

“No.”

“Puh-lease!”

“No.”

“Puh-lease!”

“No.”

“Puh-lease!”

“No.”

“Puh-lease!”

“No.”

“Puh-lease!”

“No.”

And this went on for awhile except I had broken down into uncontrollable laughter because she’s getting more desperate and cute in her “puh-lease”s and it’s become a game now. I begin to wonder if she even remembers what she’s asking for. So she says, “Puh-lease” once more and I said, “Please what?” “Puh-lease can I have the tape?”

Wow. Good memory. Unfortunately the answer is still, “No.”

“PLEASE!!!” (desperate scream and I’m still laughing like the evil mother I am.)

Completely unrelated: She’s now playing with a bunch of hangers that she’s dubbed “The Hanger Family”. The girl needs some toys upstairs I think.

Leave a Reply

