Milestone Monday May 19, 2008 (84 days left!)

Wow! I’m officially in my third trimester and with all that I have planned over the next few months, this baby’s going to be here in no time! And just between you and me, internet, I am ready for this pregnancy to be over! Mostly because I want to meet my little man but also because the following milestones are starting to wear me out.

Milestone 1: PAIN. Yes, again. It seems that my body no longer likes sitting or laying down. For sure sitting at my desk at work makes my back and butt ache. Laying down is more confusing. Either my body likes laying down so much that it feels the need to scream at me when I stop laying down or it hates laying down so much that it feels the need to remind me just how much it hates it by screaming at me when I get up. Either way, it sucks. So my only option is standing, right? WRONG. Although standing is wonderful as is walking around, that wears on me too and usually after 10-15 minutes I’m doing the pregnant slide and rocking back and forth and shifting weight from leg to leg every two minutes with my hands at the small of my back. As crazy as this sounds, I STILL don’t feel like I should be feeling this pregnant. This whole things has gone much faster than my brain has been able to come to terms with. Crazy brain.

Milestone 2: Braxton Hicks. Ok, I’m not really sick of these yet as they’re not painful really. They’re actually kind of cool. I’m naively thinking that since I’m experiencing them so early and frequently I’ll go into labor sooner. I’m so cute, aren’t I?

Milestone 3: Sleep. I sleep for roughly two hours at a time and then wake up, flip (er…roll) to the other side and sleep for another two hours then repeat the process throughout the night. Makes for a very pleasant final wake up, let me tell you. (sarcasm, people.)

Milestone 4: HORMONES. I’d like to think that I’m a fairly calm person. Oh, I have my ranting and whatnot but those are all in good humor. My hormones, however, have infused in me a moodiness I don’t like. I was very hormonal this last week and it all culminated into a drastic mood change last night around 10:30 when I ended up calling Matt and jerk and storming out of the houses to get my own damn coke. And then cried all the way to the ATM at what a thoughtless jerk my husband was for not going out and getting me a coke. Yes, a COKE. I had a very serious fight with my husband over a coke craving. This was the first of the pregnancy and could get its own milestone but it all ties in with hormones. Again, I’m hoping that my increased hormones mean my body is gearing up for an early labor. (“She’s got high hopes, she’s got high hopes…”).

As a side note, my husband promised to have coke in the fridge at all times until the end of the pregnancy. HE is a gem. I’m a crazy bitch but at least I admit that I’m crazy.

Milestone 5: Nibbler’s movements are getting much more…intense I guess is a good word for it. He’s getting bigger and although my belly may say differently, I don’t have a lot of room in there for him. I shudder to think how big he’s going to be. I am having fun showing other people his movements. I do mean “show”. You don’t have to have your hand on my belly to know he’s moving around like crazy. The movements can be painful at times and I’ve been heard to order my unborn child to take a nap but really? It’s the coolest thing ever. I highly recommend getting knocked up so you can experience it for yourself (sorry, guys. Blame nature on being left out of this one.)

Milestone 6: Domesticity! I really want to embroider stuff but, for the life of me, I can’t find transfer paper with which to transfer really cute patterns from here onto onsies and bibs and stuff. Anyone know where I can find some? On top of crap like that, I’m really into keeping my house clean. My husband is laughing (again) because the house is never immaculate but even he has to admit it a crap ton better than our old place was. Perhaps it’s the fact that it’s OUR house and we’re not renting or the fact that I adore vacuuming carpet. I don’t know. But it’s pretty cool nonetheless. OH! AND we got the nursery painted and stickered and furnitured. It’s amazingly cute and I don’t have pics for you. I will though. Soon. Before the baby’s born or the week after at the very latest. OH and Jaden bought a rattle for the baby yesterday. She’s very excited about it and today when I brought her by the office she was telling Jessie all about her baby brother being a boy and being inside my belly and then felt the need to lift up my shirt and show her my belly button. Thanks, J.

Fisher-Price Puppy Dumbbell Rattle (the new rattle Big Sister Jaden picked out for her little brother)

RANDOM NOTE: NO!!!!! I’m not having twins, random people who feel the need to ask me, “Are you sure you’re not having twins?” Bastards.

Your pregnancy: 28 weeks

How your baby’s growing:

By this week, your baby weighs two and a quarter pounds (like a Chinese cabbage) and measures 14.8 inches from the top of her head to her heels. She can blink her eyes, which now sport lashes. With her eyesight developing, she may be able to see the light that filters in through your womb. She’s also developing billions of neurons in her brain and adding more body fat in preparation for life in the outside world.

Look at those chubby cheeks! “Just catching a nap between sessions of ‘Stretch Mommy’s Uterus Beyond its limit’.”
Leave a Reply

