Milestone Monday May 12, 2008 91 days left

13 weeks left! Wow. This whole pregnancy is just flying. I’ve only got a couple milestones this week but only because one of them takes up all my time now.

Milestone 1: Still sick as you may have guessed from my post on Friday. Spent the majority of the weekend in bed with a fever and went through a box of tissues. Life is good. Really, I would just like to stay healthy for a week. Just a week’s break to give my poor body a chance to recover and gear up for the next onslaught.

Milestone 2: Had my 27 week appointment today. Did the glucose test and the hemoglobin: Not diabetic (barely failed due to my cold so dr said he’ll count it as a pass) and not anemic. WHOO! Nibbler’s still measuring over a week big but that’s ok. He’s got a good strong heart beat at 140 bpm. The crazy thing is before I left Dr gave me my first “Call me if…” talk. “If you have more than 4 contractions in an hour for two hours, call me.” It threw me off. I can’t believe we’re already at this point. It just seems to have gone so fast even though I feel like I’ve been pregnant for a loooong time. It’s a weird conundrum.

Milestone 3: I am so focused on baby now. So far I’ve been distracted with the house and it’s a big distraction. Now that we’ve settled in a little and I’ve been feeling braxton hicks, I’m focused on baby. I can’t stop thinking about him. What he’ll look like: will he look like his sister? Will he have brown eyes or green eyes? Will he have light red hair or light brown hair? What kind of baby he’ll be: Will he be calm and sleepy? Will he be crazy active and not like sleep? Will he be a good eater like his sister was? Will he hate nursing? Will he have hair? (HA!) Will he be a cuddler or a player? Will he be a “normal” delivery and come on his own or will we need to drag him out like his sister? Mainly: HOW DIFFERENT WILL HE BE? I know he will be, but how different and in what ways?

Milestone 4: I’m addicted to babycenter. I haven’t paid it any attention other than my weekly updates but now I find myself looking at the message boards. My obsession started when I stumbled upon a “what should a FTM (first time mom) expect?” question and reading all the responses of what to bring and what you can expect during delivery and recovery brought it all rushing back to me and I got so excited to experience it all again. Oh, it’s messy and painful (I’m talking recovery here) and it will be tougher with a preschooler running around but…hearing that first cry and holding him and breathing him in. Rocking him and singing to him and bonding with a whole new human being…I can’t describe the anticipation. So from that post I wandered on to the others and now I’m checking every day. It’s nice to be back 🙂

Your pregnancy: 27 weeks

How your baby’s growing:

This week your baby weighs almost 2 pounds (like a head of cauliflower) and is about 14.4 inches long with his legs extended. He can now open and close his eyes, and he sleeps and wakes at regular intervals. He may suck his fingers, and although his lungs are still immature, they would be capable of functioning — with assistance — if he were to be born prematurely. Chalk up any rhythmic movement you may be feeling to a case of baby hiccups, which may be common from now on. Each episode usually lasts only a few moments, and isn’t bothersome to him, so enjoy the tickle. With more brain tissue developing, your baby’s brain is very active now. Wonder what he’s thinking?

 

 “Be patient, mom. You’ll meet me soon enough.”

I know, Nibbler, I know. It’s just so hard waiting.

Leave a Reply

