Milestone Monday April 21, 2008 (112 days to go!)

I think I like typing this up at home. The font choices are far from numerous at work. So much to update you all on as last week I had my 23 week check up. For instance:

Milestone 1: I’m not crazy. Not in the sense that I really AM feeling this baby move a ton more than Jaden. Turns out my placenta (or is it the baby’s placenta? Oh well, what’s mine is his.) is posterior meaning it’s behind the baby. What this really translates into is there’s nothing shielding me from every single punch, kick, and jab Nibbler throws at me. And my goodness, he’s throwing a lot my way. We can see the belly moving now when he moves. Just little bloops here and there mostly but the other night I was at Jess’s in-laws’ house keeping her company (or taking a needed break from the house, whichever way you want to look at it) and I swear my whole belly jumped out. It was like a sound wave shook the surface. I don’t what he was doing but he didn’t calm down. Well, comparative to that he did but he was still very active and Jess was marveling at my blooping belly. Aren’t we all marveling at somebody’s belly at least once a day?

Milestone 2: I think I’m even more clumsy than last time. It seems this whole pregnancy has been “more”, hasn’t it? At least once a day I’m drinking something, get too excited and misjudge the distance from the cup to my mouth (or the mighty strength of my beefy forearms) and spill all over myself. Usually it’s water because I drink a lot of fricken water but the other day I threw pomegranate juice all over my front. Just to change things up. Nobody like monotony.

Milestone 3: Pain in my pelvic region seems to be easing up a bit. I started noticing it the Tuesday morning before my appointment (which had been rescheduled from Monday morning after I’d completely spaced it out. Something about Preggie Brain…) and I asked the doctor when things would start easing up a little. He said over the next couple weeks it should be plateauing a little. It’s not going to STOP hurting but the severity should stop rising. Then he went into an explanation of my uterus expanding and the hips accommodating and drew a nifty graph that showed things plateauing around 24-27 weeks. I think this baby will be very punctual. HOWEVER, while the pelvic pain is easing, I’m just sore all over now. YAY! Mostly when I get all crazy and clean the house like in

Milestone 4: Saturday I went ape shit and cleaned the living room, did laundry, picked up the livingroom and vacuumed. I don’t think my nesting instinct has kicked in yet because that doesn’t usually happen until third trimester but I’ve always been an over achiever. Just not when it comes to cleaning my house. What I’m thinking happened is I got so sick of my new livingroom and kitchen being all cluttered with shit that didn’t belong there that I freaked out and got rid of it. I had grand plans of finishing the kids’ play area in the basement but ran out of time on Saturday and by Sunday, boy howdy I was tired! And sore. Mostly my back. No wait, that’s today. Slept weird and I’m sore. Again. Big surprise.

Milestone 5: Finally watched “Knocked Up” this weekend. (This is leading in to a milestone, trust me.) It was funny and enjoyable but I wouldn’t say it was great. I guess my main problem with it was that the relationship just wasn’t believable. It seemed really forced and “we’re going to make this work for the kid”. BUT I really liked how they portrayed her pregnancy, especially the last two months when everyone kept saying, “You must be due any day now, huh?” “No, still got two months left.” This has nothing to do with what I’m about to report but I just related very well as I’m sure every other pregnant woman can.

As you might have picked up on, I’ve been having some self-image issues and generally feeling like a big fat cow. This movie helped me realize that just because I’m pregnant doesn’t mean I’m a big fat cow. Let me try again. Just because I’m pregnant doesn’t mean my husband isn’t still attracted to me. Yes, he tells me all the time I’m beautiful but I guess I needed to witness a fictitious couple have pregnant sex and see the woman feel the same way I do for it to hit me.

At any rate, it felt good to connect with my husband in that way again last night. Maybe now I’ll stop being such a big baby.

Your pregnancy: 24 weeks

How your baby’s growing:

Your baby’s growing steadily, gaining about a quarter of a pound since last week, when she was just over a pound. Since she’s almost a foot long (picture an ear of corn), that makes a pretty lean figure, but her body is filling out proportionally and she’ll soon put on more baby fat. Your baby’s skin is thin, translucent, and wrinkled, her brain is growing rapidly, and her taste buds are developing. Her lungs are developing “branches” of the respiratory “tree” and cells that produce surfactant, a substance **that helps the air sacs inflate easily.

Couldn’t they have found a healthier looking ear of corn?

HOLY CRAP:

How your life’s changing:

The top of your uterus is now an inch or so above your belly button, which means it’s about the size of a soccer ball.

Did you read that? A SOCCER BALL! My uterus is a soccer ball. I can’t help but think this is why my son is tempted to kick it so. (HA!!! I’m hilarious.)

Lookat me being all non-alien looking! Is that my foot under my chin??

Welcome to the 6 month mark, Nibbler. 6 months! I can’t believe how fast this has gone. The weather is warming up and I keep telling myself as it gets warmer, I get closer to seeing your lovely little self. Your sister is getting used to you being around, at least in the abstract sense. She says night-night to you and gives you hugs and kisses. It’s going to be so neat watching you two meet each other for the first time. Just one of many firsts we get to experience again only in a completely different way. Are you excited? I’m excited.

Leave a Reply

