Milestone Monday: March 17, 2008 (147 Days to Go!)

I’m feeling fancy today. Maybe because for the first time in a long time I feel pretty. And that’s without a shower this morning. How sexy am I?

As I was driving to work this morning I was thinking about my milestone post and I was all, “Not much happened this week?” Then I realized that just because I didn’t keep a list this week, didn’t mean nothing happened. I just have to work harder to remember. Which shouldn’t be too hard with my preggie brain to guide me. 

Milestone 1: Pelvic pain loomed its ugly head. I already posted last week about it so you know the day it actually started. The rest of the week was better, however, my “region” is very sore and stiff today. And of course Mister Doctor wasn’t concerned as it’s all part of this miracle we call “Pregnancy”. I have a hunch that my recurring pelvic pain may be partly due to… 

Milestone 2: SEX! Remember how I said my dreams have been sending me not so subtle hints that my libido needed some attention. It got it this week. No details but my poor husband is starting to feel used. These sessions aren’t focused on romance but more on “I need it now. Gimme.” But guy can’t complain too much because he’s gotten laid by a sexy preggie several times this week and who wouldn’t want that? 

Milestone 3: Hubby brought up the maternity clothes from the basement and I wore my first official all maternity wear outfit this weekend. I was cute. I forgot about one particular skirt and also forgot that even though it’s considerably warmer than it has been lately, it’s still only 35 degrees, crazy pregnant lady. Put some damn pants on. And I did. And I was warmer. In addition to the super cute stuff I forgot about, I also found some not so cute stuff I wondered what in the hell I was thinking buying them the first time around. They will be replaced in due time. 

Milestone 4: Have I mentioned the sex yet? 

Milestone 5: What about the sex of the baby? In case you missed it: IT’S A BOY!! We most sincerely would’ve been happy with a girl and were expecting a girl but we are ECSTATIC it’s a boy. I cried a little when the doctor confirmed it but when I left the office I had this beyond goofy grin on my face as I walked up to Matt who was putting Jaden in the car. Then I lost it and blubbered, “We’re having a boy!”  He laughed and hugged me and asked if I was happy. Yes. Very happy. Every knows I’ve wanted a boy so this is just way too cool. Why do I want a boy? There are different dynamics to the mother/daughter and mother/son relationships and I want to experience them both. Although I have no idea how to clean the baby boy’s area and I hear you should wear a smock whenever you change one. But I’ll figure it out. So, yay boy!! Jaden’s reaction was a little underwhelming because she thought we were calling HER a baby boy and wasn’t happy about it: “I not a baby boy!! I a GIRL!” Then we fixed that and she was ok with it.

Now we’re trying to figure out names and have a list that has been added to and deleted from all weekend. Names are hard. Especially finding one two people agree upon to name their spawn.

 Milestone 6: This has nothing to do with the baby (really) but we’ve started really packing this weekend and I’ve decided it can’t be done. It will never be finished. I don’t know how many boxes we have but I’m guessing well over 15 and we haven’t made a dent. I do blame Baby because after packing 5 boxes, I’m pooped and simply cannot do anything except watch Venture Bros and eat shortbread cookies dipped in chocolate pudding. Baby’s fault. Can’t get mad.

Your pregnancy: 19 weeks

How your baby’s growing:

Your baby weighs about 8 1/2 ounces, and he measures 6 inches, head to bottom — about the size of a large heirloom tomato. His arms and legs are in the right proportions to each other and the rest of his body now. His kidneys continue to make urine, and the hair on his scalp is sprouting. This is a crucial time for sensory development: Your baby’s brain is designating specialized areas for smell, taste, hearing, vision, and touch. If your baby is a girl, she has an astonishing 6 million eggs in her ovaries. They’ll dwindle to fewer than two million by the time she’s born. 

That does NOT look comfortable. My goodness.

 

Ok, when I first saw this I thought, “Dear god! Did someone give birth to the Elephant Man’s baby??” Then I realized it’s a smiling baby and thought, “Ooh! Cute!” Then I looked closer and realized that’s a very Jokeresque smile and feared again for the child’s teen years.

Nibbler, my sweet baby boy, I can’t believe how fast the time is flying. We still have over 5 months to go but it’s amazing that we already know you’re a boy. Soon you’ll be here and being smothered with kisses and love from everyone around you. A boy. I can’t believe we’re having a boy. The thought still makes me cry. I’m so happy. And I’d be even happier if you would continue kicking when your daddy puts his hand on my belly when I shriek “He’s really going now! Come here!” I understand he’s got very warm hands and all but c’mon. You’re making me look silly.

One Response

  1. way to confuse me, you posted twice…and no that does not look comfy and the way you can link Milestone 6 is pre-mature Nesting syndrome!!! 😀

Leave a Reply

