Milestone Monday March 3, 2008

This one’s going to be short. I say that a lot but I mean it this time. This house buying thing is taking up all of my brain power right now.

Milestone 1: Nibbler is moving much more, or at least the movements are getting stronger. I have been trying to feel them from the outside so I can have Matt feel and sometimes they’re strong enough but as soon as Matt puts his hand on my stomach, baby stops moving. The stinker.

Milestone 2: I could preface this milestone with “warning, TMI ahead” but you’ve already read about my pooping troubles so what more can I possible hide from you? So my nipples are getting darker and bigger. I thought after the previous pregnancy/nipple enlargement session they couldn’t get any bigger or darker. Once again I prove to the world that I know nothing of biology. It’s a good thing we’re not having any more kids after this or I’d end up looking like one of those National Geographic women with areolas out to my arm pits.

Milestone 3: Hit my first “Pregnancy sucks sometimes” moment Saturday night. My lady T came over to watch Jaden for a couple hours so H and I could get some over-priced dinner, which was awesome of her, and she then stayed and BS’ed with Matt and I for awhile. Then she went off in search of beer. Then Matt went over to another friend’s house. I stayed home because I had to. That’s not completely fair, I told Matt to leave and I hold nothing against him at all for going. Honestly and truly. What I was so upset about is what I have to give up by being pregnant and to take it a step further, by being a mom. Things that I took for granted like leaving at a moment’s notice to go get a beer with a friend or just leaving the house to leave the house. I’m not going to defend my feelings with the usual “I love my kid(s) and would never ever trade them for anything” statement because you all know how much I adore being a mom. It’s just that sometimes I get jealous of the freedom non-moms have. And it hit me hard Saturday night.

Baby Center Time:

Your pregnancy: 17 weeks

How your baby’s growing:

Your baby weighs 5 ounces now (about as much as a turnip), and he’s around 5 inches long. He can move his joints, and his skeleton — until now rubbery cartilage — is starting to harden to bone. His sense of hearing is also developing. The umbilical cord, his lifeline to the placenta, is growing stronger and thicker.

Is it just me or are the weekly updates getting shorter…and turnips are gross. Actually, I think I’ve only eaten turnips once and I don’t remember their flavor. I’m guessing very root vegetable like. But here’s a couple pics:

 “This is your baby.”

 “I’m not a turnip! I’m a baby!”

Weird:  I’ll let you make the phallic references.

Leave a Reply

