Food Glorious Food

Charles Dickens, Oliver!, industrial revolution

I could save this for Milestone Monday but the emotions just wouldn’t be there. Crappy afternoon involving house stuff that I don’t want to talk about because more than likely my hormones are blowing it out of proportion (WHY THE FUCK DO THEY MAKE IT SO HARD FOR PEOPLE TO BUY AN EVER-FUCKING HOUSE??!) was all made better by my husband uttering 5 simple words:

“Would you like China Hope?”

Silence on my end of the line because he just made my day glow with happiness.

“Can I get cream cheese puffs?”

“Of course.”

“And an egg roll?” (Almost squeaking now with supressed emotion)

“You can get whatever you want.”

And then I lost it. he laughed at me trying to hold back the tears. Yes, I CRIED tears of joy because of food. Sure you could dig deeper and figure that the mountain of emotions I’ve experienced today finally crumbled under the weight of this sweet gesture on the part of my husband.

You COULD if you’ve never had China Hope. Sweet merciful crap is that good pork fried rice.

 I can almost smell it now.

2 Responses

  1. I’m so happy for you and your sweet husband and your chinese food. 🙂

    I can’t believe you were actually tearing up over chinese food. You are so pregnant!!! Hee hee! Oh, good stuff.

  2. Oh Lady Lou!! I’m so sorry to hear you’ve got bad news on the home front. And so glad to hear the food deal. Would you believe me if I told you I knew every heartstring of what you felt during that phone call? I don’t think it’s crazy at all… I know the love of food all too well! And the good man part too :-).

Leave a Reply

