The wonderfulness that is my husband. Or “Why My Husband is Better Than Yours”

Oh calm down. The title is tongue in cheek. For the most part. I don’t know how to convey how awesome he really and truly is so I’m just going to go down the list of things he did JUST THIS WEEKEND and I’ll make note of those things that are done on a normal basis.

(I love lists. So much easier to organize my thoughts.)

1) Friday night he called me from Target where he was getting a birthday present for a party Jaden was supposed to go to but couldn’t because she had been throwing up all that day. I’d already given him a small list of “milk and lucky charms” (which he got) but he was wondering if he could buy me a pair of maternity pants that he found and thought I’d look really cute in. What man does that? And if that weren’t enough he says, “Oh, here’s another one that’s even cuter. Should I just get you both of them?” “Honey,” I said, “You go ahead and get me whatever you want.” So he did. And he was right. They’re very cute. He also stayed home that night instead of going to a movie to stay up with me because it was one of the rare times I was awake past nine. We didn’t do much really, just played on our laptops with our friend, Tatum. It was nice though just being adults together. Albeit incredibly nerdy adults but that’s how we roll.

2) Saturday was one giant day of wonderful. First, he went to his grandparents to help them paint their new town home. I was chomping at the bit at home with the kid and seeing as I am just one lump of non-energy I hadn’t done much other than try to pick up kid’s toys twice and take a nap. Oh, I made muffins with the kid. The real kind. From scratch and everything.  Anyway, I called him around 5 asking when he’d be home because earlier I was going to run to the grocery store but he’d said he’d swing by on his way home and it was now getting closer to dinner and I was getting ravenous. Plus, I fricken missed him a shit-ton. He said he was finishing up soon and I then demanded salmon. Not just any salmon but something that was pre-seasoned and yummy that I could throw in the oven. One with lemon, dill and butter. Yes, I’m specific in my cravings. He called me around 6:30 from the grocery store where we discussed the possible salmon choices and he ended up getting a plain salmon fillet that I would then season. By this point, I was all for that (after hearing the price difference) and found a yummy recipe on my favorite food website of all time and thus got to fulfill my dream of cooking off my laptop. I mean reading the recipe off my laptop. Actually, I’d done it earlier with the muffins so twice in one day. Score! Back to the salmon. He comes home with not only a TWO POUND salmon fillet (which is a shit-ton of salmon. Almost as large of a shit-ton as the shit-ton of me missing him.) but also with a beautiful bouquet of gerbera daisies and other little flowers I didn’t know. Why? Because he loves me but also Because it was February 23 which is our anniversary. Our first anniversary, I mean, of when we became an official couple. Yes, he ALWAYS remembers and I ALWAYS forget. I tried to cover with, “Oh, that’s why I made the muffins. For you. For our anniversary.” His grin said what he wouldn’t say out loud: “You’re full of shit, Marcoda” and he was right. Then I couldn’t stop hugging him. But I did because I had to make the TO DIE FOR SALMON. Here’s the recipe:

http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Salmon-with-Lemon-and-Dill/Detail.aspx

Salmon with Lemon and Dill

 

(not my pic. I do not have blue china nor do I care enough about presentation to put freakin lemon slices on the plate. Just gimme the food. Man, I’m hungry.)

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 pound salmon fillets
  • 1/4 cup butter, melted
  • 5 tablespoons lemon juice
  • 1 teaspoon dried dill weed
  • 1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
  • sea salt to taste
  • freshly ground black pepper to taste

DIRECTIONS

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Lightly grease a medium baking dish.
  2. Place salmon in the baking dish. Mix the butter and lemon juice in a small bowl, and drizzle over the salmon. Season with dill, garlic powder, sea salt, and pepper.
  3. Bake 25 minutes in the preheated oven, or until salmon is easily flaked with a fork.

Freaking easy, right? I served it with buttered rice and broccoli. I have to have rice with my bite of fish. Oh the yumminess that exploded in my mouth. And the best part? There’s still a pound of salmon in the freezer for next time! Never cooked fresh salmon before. Much better than frozen. I’ve been spoiled.

What was the point of this post again? Oh, right. My husband. God I want salmon. Focus! OK, so AFTER dinner Matt washed ALL the dishes. ALL THE DISHES. I don’t think you understand what this means. He’s the usual dish washer in the house because I flat out refuse. It’s true. I’m a sorry excuse for a wife. So, yes he usually does the dishes anyway (which is magical in my eye) but on Saturday there were so many dishes that he was up until midnight doing dishes. MIDNIGHT. He then woke me up (as I’d fallen asleep in J’s bed. Yes: Again. Shut up.) tucked me into our bed, got me some water and let me sleep more. That’s right. Flowers and dishes and our anniversary but no pushing for sex. Not that I wouldn’t have given it up if I could but he knows better than to try after I’ve been sleeping. Poor guy, I know. Seriously, how does he deal with me? I don’t know. He’s an angel. But it gets better.

3) Sunday after dealing with J all morning, I needed a much needed break. Really, I just needed quiet. So at 11 Cowboy Jaden and Cowboy Mommy ( her idea, not mine. I’m not the cowboy type) went and woke up Matt (How could I wake him up before that after he was up all night washing dishes?) and told him I needed a break. I’m such a baby. He’s been working his ass off all weekend and I need the break. He would have been totally within his rights to say exactly that, but he didn’t. Instead he ate some breakfast and took Jaden downstairs for an hour and half to play instruments. I love this man. I did nothing but watch Project Runway reruns and eat left over salmon. I may have had a toaster strudel as well. Can’t remember. There was food. Then, he went to a movie while Jaden and I took a much deserved nap (hey, it was deserved. She was being a little turd all day because she didn’t get enough sleep the night before). He buys me a blue slushie from the concession stand on the way out and stops at Applebee’s to get dinner (I adore their asian chicken salad). Oh, and did I mention he’d already done two loads of laundry before he left and as soon as he got home he went back down to the scary basement to continue doing laundry. (This is another thing that he’s totally taken over. I used to do the laundry all the time. Little by little he took it over. Not sure why. I’d totally do it. Maybe not so much now that just the walk up and down the stairs would literally kill me.) In my defense I did fold all two loads he brought up so I’m totally still carrying my weight. But then, just to show me up, after I laid down with Jaden in our room to finish watching the Oscars he goes and finishes the rest of the laundry INCLUDING folding it. The asshole.

 And that’s all just stuff he’s done for me. I don’t have time to get into what a wonderful father he is. You’ll have to trust me on that point. He’s a fantastic father. 

I don’t know what I did to deserve such a wonderful man but I thank who ever in the cosmos it was that pushed our fates together because I’d be lost without him. I don’t mean just the potential maze of dirty dishes and clothes that I’d be wandering in forever. I mean there’s something about him that makes me not hate the world so much. That’s not right. Let me try again.Ok, whenever I feel blue or like I’m not worthy of my family or a big fat lump or just sad, all he has to do is look at me with a smile or crack one of his stupid yet oh so witty jokes or better yet wrap his big strong arms around me and let me bury my face in his shoulder and everything is better. He’ll never know how much I truly need him because it’s hard to express those emotions in words. It’s not co-dependence. Ok, it is. But the good kind. I prefer to call it Love.

 

I love you, Matt.

 P.S. He also found me a bunch of 80’s pop music he would never in his right mind get for himself. That’s love right there.

2 Responses

  1. Aw, I’m so glad you’ve got such a sweetheart of a husband. It is obvious that he loves you. My friend Lisa (19 weeks pregnant with #6!) posted about her husband being a real gem yesterday, too. Meanwhile, my husband is currently in the lead for a**hole husband of the week. Usually he is much more “with it”. Can you send some of your husband’s thoughtfulness to my husband? Thanks, much appreciated.

  2. he is truely amazing….but look at my resources 😛 HA…ooooh sorry didn’t mean that to come out as a burn on Matt….totally awesome with out a doubt!

Leave a Reply

