Milestone Monday February 25, 2008

Before I dive into the milestones (which sometimes aren’t milestones, just musings. I know this so don’t go acting all superior pointing this out and thinking you’re smarter than me. You are smarter, but not because of this.) I need to declare that I was almost moved to tears when I checked the weather and saw that it was 30 degrees outside! Like, currently, well at 6am, 30 degrees, not going to get to that point eventually today. Oh happy day. When I got outside I caught the ever so faint scent of rotten wet grass that signals spring is coming. But it may have been the homeless people a few blocks away were super smelly today. I’m an optimist however and prefer to think that spring was teasing me. Bastard spring. Maybe I’m not an optimist. However, I am in a good mood and that’s only partially credited to my ipod which is currently playing a lullaby version of “Yellow Submarine”. If you have kids and haven’t found out about Michael Armstrong’s “Rockabye Baby!” collections of popular music in lullaby form, now you have and you’re welcome.

 

Man, I talk a lot via written word. Let’s get going on this as I know you’re all on the edge of your seats. “How has pregnancy messed with Marcoda’s life this week?? I MUST KNOW!”

 

For something different, I’m going to go in alphabetical order.  I think pregnancy is bringing out my more OCD qualities. I found myself carefully lining up our three remotes on the couch in various ways. I can’t use my OCD powers for good, no. Just lining up remote controls and listing alphabetically. Lord.

 

Milestone 1: Bending is now out of the question. I keep forgetting about this so I keep trying. And I do succeed for the most part but getting back up again is a bitch and a half and I always act all winded. Ok, I’m not acting, I really am winded. Because I’m out of shape, in every sense of the word. Ok, my preggie shape is cute but stairs should not be winding me already and trying to put my shoes on shouldn’t be a production already. I use the term “already” a lot. This is the disadvantage to having gone through the pregnancy thing before: You have a pre-determined idea of how it’s supposed to go so when things start happening a month or two ahead of time, it throws you off. There’s a very nice lady at work who’s two weeks ahead of me with her second child and who’s first is a year younger than mine who’s not showing at all. I’m thinking this is because she’s a vegetarian and actually enjoys working out and being active. But I eat healthy(ish) even I don’t engage in any active things (my fingers are in GREAT shape from typing though, does that count?). In fact, I’m going to the grocery store today to load up on healthy things like V8 Fusion (BEST JUICE EVER!), apples, fresh green beans, English muffins and rippled Lays with Top the Tater chip dip. See? Healthy.

 

Milestone 2: Dreamt about the baby twice last week. This is very cool because I’ve been waiting patiently for them to start. The first one was relatively normal. The baby was moving and I called J over to feel it (in real life, the movements are still too soft, FYI) and that’s when the baby pushed its little fist out of my stomach. Not completely through the stomach, but there was just a think membrane like thing keeping it in. Then it flattened it’s palm against my stomach and J pressed her palm against it. I remember in the dream thinking, “Woah, baby, that’s not how you get out. Let’s just push you back in before you break through completely.” And was about to push it back when the dream shifted into something else I can’t remember.

The second dream was much stranger and involved a comedian conference where I was in charge of the snacks and drinks and making sure the comedians weren’t hungry because hungry comedians aren’t funny. That really tall guy who used to do Weekend Update on SNL was there. I can’t remember his name but I think he was in that one movie where the main characters ended up killing some mean old lady for snubbing her butler who was played by the really tall guy on SNL. (Matt, honey, help me out. You saw it.) Anyway, Lewis Black was there too. Suddenly I’m not at the conference anymore but at the hospital on the last day of my stay there after having the baby. I come into the room and Matt’s holding this beautiful little black baby girl with the most adorable little afro-puff pigtails on top of her head. Yes, Matt and I who are both beyond Scandenavian and German (and PALE, all capital letters) had a beautiful black baby girl. Named Amelia.. We didn’t question it and I woke up. She had my mouth. I remember that detail. I love preggie dreams. They make no sense. I will however be seriously freaked out if I end up giving birth to a black baby, mostly because of the power of premonition that I would be in possession of.

 

Milestone 3: So in your second trimester, your supposed to get this new found energy and be all…energetic and stuff. I’m not even close to that. I’m good in the mornings but by 2, I’m done. Unless it’s the weekend, then I’m worthless all day. I partially blame my house. I’m sick of looking at it, I’m sick of trying to feign cleaning it and I’d rather sit on my couch away from it all and watch tv or play on my laptop. There will be a full post later on the wonder that is my husband for he basically running the house all on his own. It’s the least I can do for all the wonderfulness that he exudes all the time. I’m really really hoping that when we move into our new house my nesting instinct will kick in and I won’t be such a lump anymore. It never really kicked in last time but I have high hopes for this time around. OK, I’m selling myself short. I nested as best I could in our two bedroom apartment we shared with another guy. Imagine the possibilities of having TWO baby rooms to set up in addition to a whole house! I just drooled a little with anticipation. So there IS hope for me after all.  Thank the godz.

 

Milestone 4: My mental capacity for this pregnancy this hasn’t caught up to my body yet. It’s hard to describe but if you look back at milestone 1 I mention how I have the preconceived notion of how pregnancy’s supposed to go. So even though I look very much so pregnant, my mind thinks I have a few more weeks to go. Getting back to the whole time line thing in my mind, this is either going to go by very fast or I’m going to be very miserable for about month longer than normal. One good thing is the belly has been accepted by my brain and I’m no longer sad about it. Ok, I was never SAD…more in denial. Yes, denial’s a good word. I’m now happy about my belly and am proudly wearing my first maternity clothes today: a super cute pair of pants Matt got me over the weekend (just one demonstration of his wonderfulness this weekend). I’ve been asked several times by my dear friend when I’m going to give up using the stairs and take the dang elevator already and my initial response is, “when I start showing so people don’t think I’m lazy.” Then I realize I AM showing and stop my mouth from uttering that stupid statement. See? Brain hasn’t caught up to the belly. Walking fast sucks too. That was random but true.

 

Milestone 5: The name search is ON. I’m much less averted to finding a name and H and I have been throwing some ideas around. I will not be sharing them here because I don’t want your opinion. No offense but I learned after last time that parents should keep their name choices to themselves or be faced with an onslaught of unwanted naming advice. Kind of like the unwanted pregnancy advice and belly rubs.

 

This is out of alphabetical order but Jaden was talking to the baby last night. She said “hello, baby.” “I can’t wait to see you” “Night night” and a couple of other prompted things but the kiss and the hug were all her. Yes, I know. I melted and Matt beamed. I think she still thinks this is some bizarre game of pretend but hopefully after the ultrasound she’ll understand more. For now, she has a baby in her belly too and who am I to deny my pre-schooler the right to have a baby?

 

Your pregnancy: 16 weeks

 

How your baby’s growing:

At 4 1/2 inches long (head to bottom) and 3 1/2 ounces, your baby is about the size of an avocado. In the next three weeks, she’ll go through a tremendous growth spurt, though, doubling her weight and adding inches to her length. Her lower limbs are much more developed now. Her head is more erect than it has been, and her eyes have moved toward the front of her head. Your baby’s ears are close to their final position, too. Some of her more advanced body systems are working, including her circulatory system and urinary tract. Her heart is now pumping about 25 quarts of blood each day, circulating her total blood volume through her body many times. (By the end of your pregnancy, this will increase to about 190 quarts.) The patterning of her scalp has begun, though her hair isn’t recognizable yet. Although closed, her eyes are moving (slowly), and she’s even started growing toenails.

 

This astounded me:

I don’t know why but just seeing how big it is in relation to my body is crazy…

This, however, creeped me out:  Don’t look directly at it. Crazy alien thing. (Love you, Nibbler!)

I found this too: I’ve been pregnant for 112 days or 16 weeks or 4 months and I have 168 days left or 24 weeks or 6 months left. Wow, right?

 

I need to get back to work now. Nibbler, I’m loving you more every day. When I see babies, I think of you and the joy I’m about to experience. I also think about the fear. This may be why I’m trying hard to watch what I eat this time. Your sister was so big when she was born, I’m scared of having another difficult delivery. I still eat not good for me things but i’m trying to balance more with produce, which I actually crave more this time. Your sister made me eat doughnuts and baked goods all the time, the little stinker. So, here’s hoping I do better this time and you’ll go easier on me when the time comes for you to greet the world. I love you!

4 Responses

  1. before i continue reading, Norm McDonald???

  2. YES!! Thank you! Norm MacDonald.

  3. woohoo!! There’s the Avocado !!! we knew it was coming!

  4. Yes, there’s my creepy alien avacodo.

Leave a Reply

