Milestone Monday February 18, 2008

I really want a caramello right now and there’s nothing I can do about it. I mean besides actually leaving my building and going to the store and getting one. That’s not going to happen as I brought yummy leftovers and I’m writing to you all. Because I didn’t post enough last night.

And may post more tonight. (Love my laptop.)

Let’s get going on this thing so I can eat my lunch and raid the vending machine for something else chocolate-like…I think there’s a twix in there! OK, hitting the machine first then posting.

 

Oh yeah. That’s going to taste GREAT after I eat my super yummy potatoes.

 

Milestone 1: Insomnia seems to have lifted. This is great. Great great great. I’m still waking up several times during the night but I’m falling asleep right away. Except this morning at 4:30 but I blame my landlord’s house sitter’s smoking in the house (even though they informed her of the rules. I’m thinking she tried to sneak one in front of an open window). I’m just riding this train as long as I can.

 

Milestone 2: Patience is back under control. Perhaps my sleeping through the night has something to do with it. There could be a scientific argument there. But I also credit my personal attitude change. I HATE fighting with Jaden every day and I HATE leaving the house on that note or putting her to bed like that. So, I remain calm, inform her of the rules again, try to understand that although I’ve been awake for an hour, she’s just woken up and is now being forced out into the cold. I still hate people on the road. Or customers that send me things to fill out but don’t put it in a proper format so I can’t save it and then lose a whole morning’s worth of work. That’s completely hypothetical.

 

Milestone 3: Had a check up on my birthday. My doctor didn’t seemed at all concerned about the size of my belly and almost seemed bored by the whole thing. Matt and I demanded that he check for two heart beats and verify the date. Uterus is the right size and only one heart beat. But Jaden and Matt got to hear the heart beat this time so that was cool. And we got it on video so even cooler. OH! And you know how I LOVE my doctor and his bow tie? Well, he pissed me off royally when he didn’t believe that I was feeling the baby moving already. I’m all, “Dude, I know what I’m feeling.” He said, “All right…” like “I totally don’t believe you but I’m not about to argue with you.” And his bow tie wasn’t cute at all. And Matt pointed out it was crooked. Stupid doctor. Anyway, we have an appointment on March 14 for an ultrasound so we’ll be able to make sure baby’s all healthy and ok and hopefully if it’s a boy or a girl so Matt and I can end the whole “call it a she/call it a he” debate once and for all.

 

Milestone 4: Had my first non-alcoholic beer of the pregnancy. Kaliber. It was yummy and I didn’t feel like such a narc at the Redwalls concert.

 

That’s it I guess. Oh, the zit forces are still here and were reinforced by a couple troops on the chin front but they’re small and they all seem to be on the retreat.

 

Babycenter time!

Your pregnancy: 15 weeks

 

How your baby’s growing:

Your growing baby now measures about 4 inches long, crown to rump, and weighs in at about 2 1/2 ounces (about the size of an apple). She’s busy moving amniotic fluid through her nose and upper respiratory tract, which helps the primitive air sacs in her lungs begin to develop. Her legs are growing longer than her arms now, and she can move all of her joints and limbs. Although her eyelids are still fused shut, she can sense light. If you shine a flashlight at your tummy, for instance, she’s likely to move away from the beam. There’s not much for your baby to taste at this point, but she is forming taste buds. Finally, if you have an ultrasound this week, you may be able to find out whether your baby’s a boy or a girl! (Don’t be too disappointed if it remains a mystery, though. Nailing down your baby’s sex depends on the clarity of the picture and on your baby’s position. He or she may be modestly curled up or turned in such a way as to “hide the goods.”)

 

I could’ve known my baby’s gender NOW?? Ok, not liking my doctor any more…

 

 This baby it totally rocking out Celine Dion style. For whatever reason Whitney Houston’s “I Will Always Love You” came to mind instead of that Titanic song and even though I’m ok with that my brain won’t let it go and is as we speak rifling through the pages of my music knowledge trying to pin-point the tune. And…there it is. Now I’m sad.

 

 

Leave a Reply

