Milestone Monday 1/28/2008

I’m not feeling up to writing a lot. Of course knowing me, once I get going I won’t be able to stop. Today I just feel…odd I guess is the right word. Started after I got out of the shower I started feeling slightly light headed and unable to focus. I figured I was just dehydrated and hungry so I drank some water and ate a little on the way in. Still feel weird. I don’t know. I remember feeling like this after showers the last time but not until later on when my belly was throwing off my equilibrium. Let’s just recap the week so I can try eating some lunch.

Milestone 1: My paranoia over my lack of “magical” feelings is starting to get worse. I don’t feel the same as I did last time. It’s hard to describe. Last time I couldn’t stop thinking about the life growing inside me and now I almost have to remind myself sometimes. I talked to Hoju all the time but, again, I have to remind myself to talk to Nibbler. What’s wrong this time around? H says it’s because I’ve already got a kid on the outside that distracts from the kid I can’t see. It’s a good theory but it doesn’t assage my fear of making sure each kid is equally treated and loved. It’s frustrating, these feelings, because I wanted this baby so much but I can’t get excited about it. What the hell? Maybe I’m remembering the latter part of my pregnancy when I started feeling Hoju move? I don’t know. Any moms with two kids out there or moms preggie with their second that can share some insight? I know there are at least two ladies that read this occasionally that are expecting their second. Help!

Milestone 2: I’m officially down to two pairs of pants that I can wear comfortably to work. I tried going shopping last Thursday with J but there were NO sweaters or shirts and with J in tow I wasn’t about to try looking for pants. Or bras. Feckin bras. All weekend I wore one of those little tank tops with the shelf thing built in and I was in heaven. I’m wearing one now as a matter of fact. Sure it doesn’t lift and show off my new girls but who am I trying to impress? H loves them and he can’t see them while I’m at work anyway. So yea, sick of clothes and if I could I’d wear sweats and tank tops to work all the time… Damn corporate dress code.

That’s all I got. Nothing new except I had another bout of gas Saturday night which totally ruined my viewing of Lewis Black: Red White and Screwed. Well, almost. I still laughed and actually my frequent pausing of the dvr to walk around helped draw out the happy a bit longer.

Here’s my weekly produce, I mean, fetus update:

Your pregnancy: 12 weeks

How your baby’s growing:

The most dramatic development this week: Reflexes. Your baby’s fingers will soon begin to open and close, his toes will curl, his eye muscles will clench, and his mouth will make sucking movements. In fact, if you prod your abdomen, your baby will squirm in response, although you won’t be able to feel it. His intestines, which have grown so fast that they protrude into the umbilical cord, will start to move into his abdominal cavity about now, and his kidneys will begin excreting urine into his bladder.

Meanwhile, nerve cells are multiplying rapidly, and in your baby’s brain, synapses are forming furiously. His face looks unquestionably human: His eyes have moved from the sides to the front of his head, and his ears are right where they should be. From crown to rump, your baby-to-be is just over two inches long (about the size of a lime) and weighs half an ounce.
  Looks like Voldemort at the end of Goblet of Fire when he was all creepy and emaciated-baby looking. I liked the fuzzy manatee last week better. But, dude! Check out the umbilical cord. Cool. I should probably go eat so some nutrients flow through there for the little guy/gal.

2 Responses

  1. Hi! Tatum’s Aunt Carla here. Being 9 weeks preggo with #2, I feel your pain and worries. Every 2nd or more time preggo mom I know say they feel the same way, even my friend who is preggo with #6! I think your H is partly right re: J taking up a lot of your attention. Also, we need to remember that being pregnant takes a he** of a lot of energy. Not much energy left over here to do much more than focus on keeping nausea in check and The Toddler from killing herself by launching herself face first off a chair and onto a heating vent. Hang in there! You are not alone! Must run…The Toddler is quickly emptying the office bookshelf. Aaaarrrrggggghhhhhhh!

  2. I can’t believe Nibbler is already the size of a lime! He was just the size of a grape (or some random tropical fruit that I’ve never heard of) a couple weeks ago! My gosh, he’s going to be the size of a Volkswagon (sorry, can’t think of a fruit that’s the size of a volkswagon to compare your baby to) by the time you give birth!

    Oh just kidding. You’re not going to give birth to a Volkswagon-sized baby, I promise. Because I’m a doctor, that’s why.

Leave a Reply

