My Proudest Mom Moment of the weekend

Ha, I lied. I had TWO proud moments this weekend.

One: Given the instructions to go get a strawberry soda to share with daddy (a nearly forbidden treat as we almost NEVER have soda in the house) J promptly came back with a bag of pears and asked to share one with us instead of the soda. How proud was I? I told her, “I am so proud of you!” and gave her a big hug. She asked sweetly, “You proud of me?” “Yes, my darling, so very proud.”

Two: J was singing something during breakfast and I couldn’t understand what she was singing. Couldn’t place words or melody or tempo. So I asked her, “What are you singing, J?” She paused and said, “Beatles.” “Beatles?” I asked in amazement. “Yes,” she replied. I asked her to sing it again and listened really hard. It was an upbeat song but that’s all I could get from it. I still don’t know what she was singing but I was proud. I was even prouder later that evening when I was singing her “Blackbird” at bedtime and she sang along. I nearly wept.

One Response

  1. I can just imagine going back in time and telling your 16-year-old self that one day you’d have a daughter who sang Beatles songs. Your head would have exploded with joy!

    She is just too cute!!! I’m goo right now. Goo.

Leave a Reply

