Milestone Monday 1/14/08

Blech. I think I’m getting a cold. First cold of the pregnancy! WHOO! No, not really whoo. Apparently my sarcasm is still in tact. This is going to be a short update. Last week was kinda lame.

Milestone 1: Got my “drive” back. OK, this milestone wasn’t lame. Well, part of it was. Let me explain. It hit me on Sunday that I really needed some sex with my husband. This is a big deal as any preggie will tell you. For the first trimester you’re so tired and nauseated that the absolute last thing you want (other than food) is sex. Which is ironic since that’s what got you here in the first place. Anyway, so the drive was there but my fatigue and nausea hadn’t left yet so although the spirit was willing, the flesh was less than weak. Poor H. I kept hinting that I was ready but by the time we got the kid in bed, I was passed out on the couch. How sexy am I? But without getting into details, it finally happened this weekend and it was good. Now I have a cold so it’ll probably be another two months before we get any more action. Please godz let me be wrong about that.

Milestone 2: Appetite went away again. Well, not really. See, I’m hungry all the time but only because when I do eat, I can only eat so much so that I’m hungry again an hour later. So, I guess it didn’t go away, it’s just pissing me off.

Milestone 3: My new co-workers now know about the pending bundle of joy. I told my boss last Thursday (his response: “Oh, no.” Which I could understand because last year three of his employees went on maternity leave, one had twins and didn’t come back. I can see why he’d be tired of preggies at this point.) and told the rest of the team at lunch on Friday. Nothing like telling a group of people you’ve been working with for two weeks that you’ll be leaving in 8 months to pop out a kid.

Milestone 4: I discovered I still harbor some negative feelings over my in-laws reaction to our happy news. Well, just the mother and sister portions of the family. MIL said, “Oh no, don’t tell Heather.” Then realized what she’d said and tried to back track. Then when we told SIL and BIL on Christmas morning, BIL was all “What?? That’s great!” and SIL left the room and cried for 20 minutes because she’s not pregnant. Oh but then the day after chrismas she took a test and lo and behold she’s pregnant too and due 3 1/2 weeks after me. So now she can be happy for us. Yes, I’m still bitter. But I can’t help it. It’s how I feel. Plus her pregnancy is already proving to be as difficult (if not more so) than last time and the attention is all on her. Again. Really, I hope to GOD nothing happens to either of our babies. I’m just being an attention hog right now. But come on. All my friends have drama and I’m ALWAYS the stable one. Just once I’d like to be the one getting attention. But in a good way. Oh, this doesn’t make any sense and I should just delete it all. But, I promised myself that this blog would show the real side of me and this is it. Just please please please don’t misread this and think I’m harboring truly negative and hateful feelings towards my SIL and future neice or nephew. I love her, I really do. I just think she could’ve handled the situation better is all. Moving on.

Milestone 5: Had my first food dream. I was at a special doughnut shop picking out all these exotic doughnuts with fun fillings and outer-shells. So, I woke up and told H we had to go to the store so I could get a doughnut. Cub doughnut selection is more than lame and I was very disappointed. My sprinkled long john is still at home with one lonely bite taken out of it. At least J enjoyed her little cake doughnut.

Your pregnancy: 10 weeks

How your baby’s growing:

Though he’s barely the size of a kumquat — a little over an inch or so long, crown to bottom — and weighs less than a quarter of an ounce, your baby has now completed the most critical portion of his development. This is the beginning of the so-called fetal period, a time when the tissues and organs in his body rapidly grow and mature.

He’s swallowing fluid and kicking up a storm. Vital organs — including his kidneys, intestines, brain, and liver (now making red blood cells in place of the disappearing yolk sac) — are in place and starting to function, though they’ll continue to develop throughout your pregnancy.

If you could take a peek inside your womb, you’d spot minute details, like tiny nails forming on fingers and toes (no more webbing) and peach-fuzz hair beginning to grow on tender skin.

In other developments: Your baby’s limbs can bend now. His hands are flexed at the wrist and meet over his heart, and his feet may be long enough to meet in front of his body. The outline of his spine is clearly visible through translucent skin, and spinal nerves are beginning to stretch out from his spinal cord. Your baby’s forehead temporarily bulges with his developing brain and sits very high on his head, which measures half the length of his body. From crown to rump, he’s about 1 1/4 inches long. In the coming weeks, your baby will again double in size — to nearly 3 inches.

OK, is it just me or is that not a cute little fetus picture? Like a cute alien. Oh, here’s a kumquat:  

Honestly, I had no idea what these things looked like. I thought they were more like little mangos than little oranges. I learned something today. Hope you did too (other than I’m an evil evil person). HAHA!! I just read this next part of baby center that I normally don’t include but I just had to share:

Though you’re probably not ready for maternity wear, you may find that your regular clothes are becoming uncomfortably tight and your blossoming breasts are straining the seams of your bra.

“Blossoming breasts”? Seriously? Could they have come up with something more to the point like, “Your boobs are growing like crazy and your bra’s going to kill you. Taking off the bra will make you groan and sigh with relief in such a way that will instantly arouse your husband who will then offer to massage them for you. Because he hates to see you in pain. Not because they’re now at least a half cup size bigger.”

At least somebody’s getting some pleasure out of this.

2 Responses

  1. is it just me or have you noticed that every reference that they make to the size of Nibbler is a food item?? is this where you are getting your food cravings from? YAY…time for the soccer star to kick mama…all though i think you still have about 4-6 weeks till you’ll really feel it 😛 yay you!

  2. I’m sorry/excited/understanding about your in-laws. I hope that all goes well for both of you.

    I’m also glad you didn’t delete your post 🙂

Leave a Reply

