Milestone Monday 1/7/08

It was a relatively quiet week last week. No crazy bathroom episodes but a couple things did happen.

Milestone 1: Eating a lot more. My near constant nausea has abated somewhat. It’s still there but not as severe. I’ve started a daily routine of a granola bar and banana on the drive to work and then shoving food in my mouth through out the day. One thing I have noticed is junk food as little to no appeal to me. (Chex Mix is considered cereal, right?) Whenever I hear a commercial for fast food I feel sick to my stomach. I don’t know when I started craving fast food with J but I remember it being the cornerstone of my diet. Mostly Taco Bell really. This time it’s all fruit and veggies. Raw fruits and veggies and seeing as I’m too lazy to cut up veggies, that’s one craving I haven’t been able to fulfill. This change in food interests is giving me hope that perhaps I’m maturing a little or that (perhaps) this is a boy? Maybe. I’ll need to do some research on Old Wive’s Tales. I generally disregard them but they make me giggle.

Milestone 2: I discovered last Thursday after lunch that my belly was sticking way out. Like 4 months pregnant worth. This concerned me and as soon as I got home I looked at my old preggie pics. I don’t have any of me at 8 weeks but the first ones I had were around 13-14 weeks and those pics didn’t show me…showing as much as I am now. The reason I’m freaking out is I haven’t told my new boss (of whom I’ve been working for for all of 3 days) that I’m preggie and was wanting to wait until my 10 week check up next week. I may not have a choice if I keep eating lunch. Which I plan on continuing. It only happens when I eat a full meal. Perhaps I’ll stick to snacking and just stay at my desk all day. This is exactly what happened with J. Well, not exactly. What I meant was I’d just gotten hired with the company then had to tell my then boss I was pregnant after two weeks. I sense a pattern emerging.

Milestone 3: I’m not as fatigued but walking and bending wear me out more. My husband’s going to laugh at this one. “Not fatigued?? Are you kidding me?” I’m not saying I’m not tired all the freaking time. What I mean is, I can doze for half an hour when J goes to bed then be up for awhile and actually spend some time with my husband without the toddler. And since my belly is already starting to expand, bending is (already) becoming an issue. I can still do it but oh, it’s tough to get back up again. It’s way too early to feel this pregnant. This does not bode well for the rest of my pregnancy.

Milestone 4: J is starting to refer to the baby more. It’s still pretty abstract to her (she told Tatum I had a baby in my tummy and she had one in hers which sent Tatum fairly running from the room crying “nononononono.”) but she knows something’s going on. It’s going to be so neat watching her grasp more and more what’s going on. On the plus side Nibbler seems to want to speed up the process of giving her a visual (see milestone 2). I can already tell they’re going to get along beautifully.

That’s about it for milestones. See? Pretty quiet. Now I’m going to throw out my left over pizza that was so wonderful last night but so not wonderful now and have some fruit and chex mix. I’ll let you know if the belly pops out this time.

Your pregnancy: 9 weeks

How your baby’s growing:

Your new resident is nearly an inch long — about the size of a grape (Is this the wimpy sized grapes I got last week or the awesome giant globe ones I got the week before I have to wonder)— and weighs just a fraction of an ounce. She’s starting to look more and more human. Her essential body parts are accounted for, though they’ll go through plenty of fine-tuning in the coming months. Other changes abound: Your baby’s heart finishes dividing into four chambers, and the valves start to form — as do her tiny teeth. The embryonic “tail” is completely gone. Your baby’s organs, muscles, and nerves are kicking into gear. The external sex organs are there but won’t be distinguishable as male or female for another few weeks. Her eyes are fully formed, but her eyelids are fused shut and won’t open until 27 weeks. She has tiny earlobes, and her mouth, nose, and nostrils are more distinct. The placenta is developed enough now to take over most of the critical job of producing hormones. Now that your baby’s basic physiology is in place, she’s poised for rapid weight gain.

I just want to reflect on that last sentence. When I read it, I felt excited. Like for the first time since I saw my little plus sign this is seeming real to me. This is when the fun starts. Nibbler will start growing faster and faster and soon I’ll feel him kicking (I called Hoju a he too until we found out he was a she. It’s just something I do. Fetuses seem male to me, I don’t know why) and OH! I can’t wait for that part. Mostly cuz right after that starts we’ll find out if he’s a he or a she. Ok, I’m getting ahead of my weekly updates but this is a good milestone for this week: Feeling excited.

Leave a Reply

