Love

Whenever I hear Bloc Party’s “Modern Love”, I think of my husband. It’s a perfect modern day love song (as the title suggests). Read the lyrics and if you’re not convinced, download the song and listen. Just try and tell me the “I’ll pay for you anytime” line doesn’t get you right in that soft spot in your chest.

“This Modern Love”

To be lost in the forest
To be cut adrift
You’ve been trying to reach me
You bought me a book
To be lost in the forest
To be cut adrift
I’ve been paid
I’ve been paid

Don’t get offended
If I seem absent minded
Just keep telling me facts
And keep making me smile
Don’t get offended
If I seem absent minded
I get tongue-tied
Baby, you’ve got to be more discerning
I’ve never known what’s good for me
Baby, you’ve got to be more demanding
I will be yours

I’ll pay for you anytime

You told me you wanted to eat up my sadness
Well jump on, enjoy, you can gorge away
You told me you wanted to eat up my sadness
Jump right
Baby, you’ve got to be more discerning
I’ve never known what’s good for me
Baby, you’ve got to be more demanding
Jump left

What are you holding out for?
What’s always in the way?
Why so damn absent-minded?
Why so scared of romance?

This modern love breaks me
This modern love wastes me

Do you wanna come over and kill some time?
Tell me facts, tell me facts, tell me facts
Tell me facts
Throw your arms around me

(Yeah, I know, right? Sappy without being sappy. I love you, Mr. Bingmar.)

2 Responses

  1. Well aren’t you just miss little “lovey dovey, my hubby is perffy”…err i mean “perfect” lol. Anywho…someone told me today that they think “princess” is gaining weight and should go on a diet…and this was one of “p’s” friends

  2. “If your friends with “p” well your not friends with me”. It’s like the opposite of the Rentals song. Dose anybody even know who the Rentals are anymore? I think I might be the only person reading your blog that would. Please, if anybody else knows of them, show the love so I don’t feel so alone in my random quote!

    drat

Leave a Reply

